Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Help with mics (CA11's)  (Read 1004 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline welshylad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Where Did It All Go Wrong?
Help with mics (CA11's)
« on: June 12, 2022, 04:11:41 PM »
Hi guys, I've used my CA11's now for a good 8 years, something like that. The last couple of gigs I've recorded have come out (or so I thought) terrible! Waaaaaaaaaay overlevelled, even though I check levels at the gigs and they are fine. When editing it turns on somehow the bass is cranked up as high as it will go, if i reduce the bass right down the recording is fine.

Any idea what be causing this please? Haven't had a days trouble up until the last few gigs

TIA

Offline neutrino

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 611
  • Gender: Male
  • **Team Chicago**
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2022, 10:00:57 PM »
What battery box do you use? It could have to do with a roll-off function of the battery box that has changed position.
CA14/OM14 > A10
Sony SBM-1 Oade mod

Offline welshylad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Where Did It All Go Wrong?
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2022, 07:41:33 AM »
Thanks for replying mate, I use the below, there are no switches I could hit to be honest

https://www.church-audio.com/shop/battery-boxes/ugly-battery-box/

My rig is:

CA-11 > CA-UBB > Edirol R07

Offline neutrino

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 611
  • Gender: Male
  • **Team Chicago**
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2022, 02:40:35 PM »
Are you going into the mic input where you may have been going through the line input before? Is the bass heard on both channels of your recording??
CA14/OM14 > A10
Sony SBM-1 Oade mod

Offline welshylad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Where Did It All Go Wrong?
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2022, 05:09:59 PM »
There's only the one input on the R07, its not like the R09 where you had mic/line in

Yeh its on both channels.

i havent changed anything in my set up at all, so don't know what it could be really.

Offline dyneq

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 747
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2022, 11:38:31 PM »
Did the 9V battery have a full charge? If you don’t know, I would try a new one.

Offline welshylad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Where Did It All Go Wrong?
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2022, 05:05:17 AM »
Yes mate i change the batteries in my recorder and the mics every use. I always use Duracell too, no cheap ones

It's a bit of a mystery to be honest :D

Offline unidentified

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2022, 06:56:23 AM »
"...even though I check levels at the gigs and they are fine."  I would experiment with a different recorder. It may not be the mics.

Offline nulldogmas

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1367
    • How I Escaped My Uncertain Fate
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2022, 09:19:08 AM »
Can you maybe post some before and after samples? That would make this easier to try to help diagnose.

Offline welshylad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Where Did It All Go Wrong?
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2022, 08:50:26 AM »
I don't have the original recordings unfortunately to compare... Only the edited ones.

I will try the mics with my Edirol R09 next time I tape though, see what happens


Thanks guys

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (41)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3878
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2022, 02:06:07 PM »
Is it possible there's a bass filter on your re order that has been switched off recently? I've never used the R07 so I don't know how they work but most recorders have a low cut function. Sounds like you may have been using it all along and somehow switched it off resulting in overwhelming bass .
Line Audio CM3 || ADK A51 type IV
SD MixpreD || Oade Warm Mod UA5
Tascam DR680 || Marantz PMD661 || Korg MR1 (homebrew internal battery mod)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline unidentified

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2022, 02:10:15 PM »
I remain intrigued by the fact that the levels appear fine on the recorder while you are recording and yet the recordings are way overloaded.  What would happen if you turned the gain way way down while recording?  Would the recordings sound normal or grossly under recorded in terms of self noise?     

Offline welshylad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Where Did It All Go Wrong?
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2022, 05:20:05 AM »
I had a good look at my mics yesterday, on my battery box where the 9v battery goes the "prongs" were kind of bent outwards, the bit on the right in the picture below


Would that have caused it? As is wasn't making a proper connection....

Anyway I bent them all back in last night and recorded Stereophonics and it came out superb!

So it either was that battery thing, or pure luck? I don't know, but they worked last night

Offline neutrino

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 611
  • Gender: Male
  • **Team Chicago**
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2022, 03:05:22 AM »
Sounds like your mics weren’t getting any voltage or the voltage was so low it caused the mics to overload. Good to hear things are sorted at the moment.
CA14/OM14 > A10
Sony SBM-1 Oade mod

Offline welshylad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Where Did It All Go Wrong?
Re: Help with mics (CA11's)
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2022, 07:16:10 AM »
Thanks for your help guys.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.055 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF