Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?  (Read 287 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline breakonthru

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 151
Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« on: March 08, 2024, 07:41:48 AM »
Have we come this far? Have some dat masters I’m doing that could use some help

Offline EmRR

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 779
    • ElectroMagnetic Radiation Recorders
Re: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2024, 01:35:16 PM »
Would I be wrong to assume digital noise from a DAT playback means the DAT alignment was not correct for the tape? Can it be retransferred from another machine?
Mics: DPA 4060 w/MPS 6030 PSU/DAD6001/DAD4099, Neumann KM 131, Oktava MK 012, Sennheiser MKH 105, MKH 20, MKH 30, MKH 40, MKH 800 TWIN
Recorders: Zoom F8n, Sony MZ-R50

Offline breakonthru

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 151
Re: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2024, 02:12:20 PM »
Could be any number of reasons. Digital noise is from the noise correction algorithm, trying to interpret missing data that wasn’t written in the first place, or is written incorrectly a

A tape that sheds its magnetic medium and is missing the data will give the same digital noise

if you have a master tape and it’s not read correctly, that “corrected” digital noise will be recorded cleanly and reproducably to the new copy, and will not go thru additional algorithm nor show errors on playback, as it a “correct” copy of the digital trash the last deck fed it.

Offline robgronotte

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 216
Re: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2024, 08:03:54 PM »
I'm sure you could improve the recording with RX, but I don't know how much, and it might be a good amount of work. If nothing else you could lower the volume of the noisy sections so they won't hurt your ears as much.

I'm kinda curious about it now. If you want to send me one I'll give it a try and see if I can do anything then let you know what I tried.

What acts are the recordings?



Offline Chilly Brioschi

  • The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 15446
  • Gender: Male
  • Waiting for the next cladogenetic event, or Godot
    • Oceana North America
Re: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2024, 11:45:54 AM »
I'm sure you could improve the recording with RX, but I don't know how much, and it might be a good amount of work. If nothing else you could lower the volume of the noisy sections so they won't hurt your ears as much.

I'm kinda curious about it now. If you want to send me one I'll give it a try and see if I can do anything then let you know what I tried.

What acts are the recordings?

This would love a bit of post, if it moves you:
https://archive.org/details/LaMP2023-12-08
"Peace is for everyone"
        - Norah Jones

"Music is the drug that won't kill you"
         - Fran Lebowitz

Offline robgronotte

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 216
Re: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2024, 01:37:30 PM »
The band's name is Lamp?

Do you have any notes about where the noisy spots are?

Offline Chilly Brioschi

  • The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 15446
  • Gender: Male
  • Waiting for the next cladogenetic event, or Godot
    • Oceana North America
Re: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2024, 09:05:04 PM »
Yes, it is a "sideman" group from famous Jambands ( https://www.ilikelamp.com )
It has no vocals, and is full range, but flat.
The PA was quite loud.

I do not know the recordist, so if you want to post it after any edit, it would be right and polite to ask him.

I have been trying to find time to give it a bit of "clean and sparkle", but school has been keeping me busy
"Peace is for everyone"
        - Norah Jones

"Music is the drug that won't kill you"
         - Fran Lebowitz

Offline robgronotte

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 216
Re: Can izotope or some other tool clean up digi noise?
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2024, 04:05:23 AM »
Yes, it is a "sideman" group from famous Jambands ( https://www.ilikelamp.com )
It has no vocals, and is full range, but flat.
The PA was quite loud.

I do not know the recordist, so if you want to post it after any edit, it would be right and polite to ask him.

I have been trying to find time to give it a bit of "clean and sparkle", but school has been keeping me busy

Sorry, I missed that you were not the original poster.  I was just offering to see if I could fix some spots of diginoise.  I know how to fix a lot of different noise problems, but really almost nothing about how to improve the general sound of a recording.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.044 seconds with 31 queries.
© 2002-2024 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF