Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Noob - My First Rig  (Read 1891 times)

Offline kmanshi

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Stop coming to my barn. You're all FIRED!!
Noob - My First Rig
« on: August 09, 2004, 04:15:58 PM »
Rode NT5 (matched pair) -> MBOX -> ProTools 6.4 LE

Any opinions on this equipment.  I'm pretty new to recording, so I couldn't justify spending an ass load of money on what would be my first rig.  Not to mention I don't have an ass load of money.  Looking closer at the MBOX, I'm afraid I made my first mistake assuming I could transfer via usb at 48/24.  I think this only works when you have a digital input.  Anyone ever use an MBOX?  I've been hearing pretty good things.  At the very least, I can do 44.1/16 which should keep me plenty busy for a while.

I'd love to hear your opinions, and let me know what I might expect from the above gear.  If it's all a bunch of shite.... please break it to me gently.

And the same God you're afraid, is going to send you to hell, is the same God you will answer to when the pin hits the shell.

Offline Brian

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Noob - My First Rig
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2004, 04:29:22 PM »
i know joe shambro here has used the mbox for 24 bit but i'm not sure if used the usb or the coax input. i'm pretty sure usb though. drop him a PM, his sign name is "joeshambro"

as for the sound of the MBOX the preamps in them are focusrites.  Focusrite makes some very nice outboard preamps for the studio so i'm sure these have to sound pretty decent.  plus if you get another portable mic pre you can 4mic configs or nice sbd/aud matrixes.