Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: NJB3 Opt.in wav misreading KHZ, H120 gets it???  (Read 3816 times)

Offline strokinthrees

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
NJB3 Opt.in wav misreading KHZ, H120 gets it???
« on: August 28, 2005, 12:12:43 AM »
Newbie here trying to record optical line in (wav) with NJB3. The NJB3 isn't picking up on the fact
that the signal is a 16bit 48khz wav.  So.... the recorded music is a tad slow sounding.  Using the
same cable (A Sony toslink/mini optical) my iRiver H120 recognizes the signal as 48khz and the
recording sounds normal.  I tried another NJB3 and got the same poor results.
If I can't fix this, at least it works via the iRver H120.  Any ideas on how to fix?
Can anyone with knowledge of these two units give me their opinion on quality loss (if any)
by not being able to use the NJB3 successfully in this situation.   Thanks

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: NJB3 Opt.in wav misreading KHZ, H120 gets it???
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2005, 12:18:10 AM »
Huh, that's odd.  What firmware?  I doubt it's a cable issue.  Same ADC source feeding both the JB3 and iRiver?  What ADC?

Try transferring the recorded file to your PC and then change the WAV header to the proper sample rate.  Note:  you *don't* want to actually resample, just change the header.  If it takes more than a very brief time to change the WAV header sample rate, then you're actually resampling - which is not what you want to do.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline strokinthrees

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2005, 12:31:01 AM »
Using the latest firmware on the NJB3. The source is from a hard drive dvr fed through a
Harman/Kardon avr520 using its optical out.
I have already transfered some songs to the computer but am unsure how to do
what you suggested to change the KHZ.

Roving Sign