Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Outdoors and In  (Read 2799 times)

Offline boolz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Outdoors and In
« on: May 21, 2007, 08:57:17 PM »
I'm an absolute newbie to taping and would like some mic advice. I plan on doing some stealth taping of some loud, indoor concerts mainly, in medium size venues (~800), and want to get mics for that. But my first real taping will be at an outdoor festival, on the floor of stadium surrounded by empty bleachers.

Can I use the same mics for both types venue? I'm willing to spend a couple hundred, but would prefer to keep it simple and have one good set rather than two mediocre sets.

Also, if you don't mind, check my reasoning on this plan, and tell me if anything sounds like a disaster. I've read what I could, but may not be processing it all correctly:

- the crowds I'm anticipating are fairly annoying, so I'm thinking of cards to not pick up too much crowd noice (but want some)

- the recorder I'm using is a Belkin Tunetalk because it's what I already own. I'll change later if it looks like I need to. I've got some recordings using its internal mics, so I've got something to compare with once I get good mics and power for them. (also, I don't want to invest too much because, frankly, don't know if I'll be really willing to give up screaming for taping, in the long run)

And finally, how sneaky do you have to be to get mics into a no-audio venue? iPod and belkin are no problem, even with wanding. Does wanding pick up other mics and/or batt box?

Thanks.

Offline discopanic1

• Taperssection Regular
Re: Outdoors and In
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2007, 09:39:28 PM »
The cards will sound nice outdoors at a good spot in the venue.  The subs sound real nice on the indoors if the situation is right.  What's your 1st idea on a configuration?

Offline boolz

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2007, 07:18:46 PM »