Gear / Technical Help > Ask The Tapers

Brand new to taping live concerts, any tips?

(1/4) > >>

tapermansam:
I'm brand new to taping live concerts, and am looking to record the Northlands Music Festival this June and wondering if anyone has been here and if they allow recording? I emailed them twice and haven't heard back...

I've done classical recordings before (piano, pipe organ, quintets, etc) and a few local bands here and there, but nothing like a festival/large outdoor concert. Any tips or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Gear that I'll be using:
Zoom F4
Rode NT5 matched pair (I have both cardioids and omni capsules)
Sony MDR7506 studio headphones
Impact 13' air cushioned light stand for the stereo bar + mics

Thanks!

Sam

HealthCov Chris:
I haven't been to Northlands, so I can't speak to that.  That lineup looks sweet!!! However, some important considerations to festival taping are as follows (not an exhaustive list).
1- Adequate windscreens
2- Adequate memory card size.  I use a seperate 128gb for each day, so I can start for first band and let run all day.  Don't want to run out of space, or be messing around with cards after libations have been had.
3- Adequate battery.  Know your consumption amount before you go.  Or take something like this for the day https://a.co/d/bi5STQ7 .  You can recharge it overnight.  I hate using smaller battery banks that may die.  Again...libations.
4- Rain coverage for mics and gear on ground.  Umbrella with clamp and clear trashbag.  Be sure your mic cables curl below the thrash bag tie off, this way any water runs down your cables and drips off before they enter the trash bag.
5- consider a weight for your tripod incase the wind kicks up.
6- If setting stand in traffic area, a small led string light is helpful to mark your stand base area to avoid people walking into it.
7- Dry storage for gear overnight to prevent moisture in the mics.
8- Double all this if you plan to record at both stages.