Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Anybody ever open up a JB3?  (Read 4602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MattD

  • Taper Emeritus
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4634
  • Gender: Male
Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« on: June 25, 2003, 01:18:06 PM »
Since I've never seen one of these, I'm only going on speculation here. Is the optical input a miniplug or TOSlink?

If it's a TOSlink, wouldn't it be relatively easy to replace that receiver with a coaxial input? I realize there are slightly different voltage requirements of the signal, but some chips are more forgiving than others when it comes to that.

If it's a miniplug, I have a 1/8" SPDIF (and a 1/8" to coax converter) which might also be swapped without much difficulty.

If anyone has opened their JB3, or is willing to to take some good pics of the digital input, I'd be interested in at least looking at the innards while trying to figure out if it could be modded.

That's my random techie rambling for today.

-Matt
Out of the game … for now?

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8087
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2003, 01:27:57 PM »
find a way to MOD it so it can accept 24 bit and then we would be talking......
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline MattD

  • Taper Emeritus
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4634
  • Gender: Male
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2003, 01:30:01 PM »
Haha, I wish - that'd be far more useful to me as well. However, that would require a complete rebuild of the digital stage as well as a software rebuild/hack.

*Praying for SD to strip all the features from its HD series and just release a recorder at some point*
Out of the game … for now?

Offline Nick in Edinboro

  • Wishes he was fishing right now...
  • (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2924
  • Gender: Male
  • Toshiba SD3690 > HK AR-20 > B&K ST-140 > Axiom M22
    • moepics.com - share your shots of moe.
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2003, 01:41:31 PM »
Matt, it's a miniplug as the optical in also acts as an analog in.

Here are some pictures of the guts.  Hope you the best of luck, glad to see some JB3 interest!

http://tinyurl.com/f8v8
Oktava MC012's (dorseymod) > UA-5 (digmod) > JB3
http://braintuba.no-ip.com

Offline tadjblack

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Gender: Male
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2003, 03:46:06 AM »
go Matt go- go Matt go! :yahoo:
Team Bama Alumni

Offline MattD

  • Taper Emeritus
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4634
  • Gender: Male
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2003, 01:04:25 AM »
Well, it LOOKS like the optical piece could be replaced by an RCA jack if you drilled out the case a little bit more.

What I need to find is the specs on the voltages and see if the optical outputs the same voltages to the pins as the SPDIF would. If not, then I'd have to build a buffer circuit. While that would work, it'd be too big to fit inside, which would defeat the purpose.

If I find that the voltages are the same, or that the circuit can fit in there somewhere, I'll try to find some way to test it out, or talk to someone who can.
Out of the game … for now?

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4868
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2003, 02:31:09 AM »
of course, if you hacked it to accept coax, you'd give up your analog input-unless you can move that to one of the line out jacks or something like that.

possibilities...
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

Offline bush

  • "Taper Pimp"
  • (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 752
  • Gender: Male
  • Steppin to the beat
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2003, 01:17:03 PM »
of course, if you hacked it to accept coax, you'd give up your analog input-unless you can move that to one of the line out jacks or something like that.

possibilities...

small price to pay...imo...to get out of the optical realm.

most of us are not using the analog in at all???
am i right here?

Team Bama--Duct tape Mafia

"RIGLESS"

1985 CJ-7 stretched on 38's

Offline tadjblack

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Gender: Male
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2003, 08:16:35 PM »
optical all the way 8)
Team Bama Alumni

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4868
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2003, 09:59:22 PM »
I used the analog in when I was stealthing; mp-2>1/8">jb3 analog in
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

Offline 1st set only

  • (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2115
  • Gender: Male
  • you are what you is
    • Don Poulsen Illustration and Graphic Design
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2003, 09:22:33 AM »
It would be nice if it was just a toslink and not a mini combo analog. those mini adapters break so easily it is sickning!
the show is over go home please.

jpschust

  • Guest
  • (0)
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2003, 09:18:42 PM »
interesting that this topic comes up, the other day there was a post on /. about hacking it for more memory... im considering working on mine for the coax mod

Offline MattD

  • Taper Emeritus
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4634
  • Gender: Male
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2003, 10:59:46 PM »
Okay ... with a voltmeter, find out the voltage the optical receiver puts out while a signal is being passed. Take a SPDIF and pass signal through that and measure the output voltage as well. Use the SPECIFIC digital gear you'd be using in the field. If they are similar volatages, then you might be able to do a straight swap, keeping your signal and ground the same, and just not connecting the analog to anything.

If they do not output the same voltage, you would need to construct a buffer circuit similar to those in an external box, I'd assume. If you're good with soldering, it shouldn't hurt to try the swap anyway b/c you can always solder the original piece back on if it doesn't work with the coax.

*disclaimer* this is your gear - if you slip with soldering or feed a nonstandard voltage into the unit, damage can occur. Not to discourage, but just to let you know that bad can happen.

Let me know how it goes and if you need any help. If you can post a close-up of the jack, I might be able to tell you which is signal and ground if you can't. You can probably get an RCA jack at radioschwag.

-Matt
Out of the game … for now?

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4868
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:Anybody ever open up a JB3?
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2003, 04:28:19 AM »
I might try to hack mine after I pick up my 722...
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.057 seconds with 39 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF