Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Noob Question: Buy a Sony MZ-1 Minidisc?  (Read 4813 times)

Offline ivory88

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
Noob Question: Buy a Sony MZ-1 Minidisc?
« on: March 24, 2004, 03:19:13 PM »
Quick question from a total newbie:

Looks like I have the opportunity to purchase a MINT condition Sony MZ-1 minidisc for approx. $80 + shipping.  Would appreciate and and all honest opinions on this.  I've lurked around TS for a while, and I'm aware of MD limitations, and that JB3's are kinda the way to go nowadays.  I also see that the MZ-1 is one of the few (only?) portables with on optical out, which would rrrreeeaaalllly help me with transferring.

Another ?: Will the recorded quality be on par with MD units being produced today?

I am simply looking to stealth a few shows this summer, and don't want to spend huge $$$.

Thanks in advance for all replies!

Offline firmdragon

• Taperssection All-Star
    • taping blog
Re:Noob Question: Buy a Sony MZ-1 Minidisc?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2004, 05:18:28 PM »
I've always had the impression that the only thing that the MZ-1 was good for for xfering digitally.  Being that its an early generation MD player i doubt the ATRAC compression is going to be anywhere even close to what it is today.  It also looks pretty bulky and probably on the heavy side.

Offline mgleason007

• Taperssection Member
  • Mmmmm, yummy
    • My Bootleg List
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2004, 06:22:21 PM »
From what I understand, ATRAC3 is ATRAC3.  So it would sound the same if it had the same A/D.  I'm confused by you saying that "it's only good for transferring digitally" but in the next sentence say the atrac isn't the same.  If it's not the same it's not going to be able to read the disc.
Mike

Offline Chanher

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Colorado Crew
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2004, 07:10:42 PM »