Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Brand new to taping live concerts, any tips?  (Read 1757 times)

Offline tapermansam

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • Sam Cherubin Photography
Brand new to taping live concerts, any tips?
« on: February 08, 2024, 08:54:16 AM »
I'm brand new to taping live concerts, and am looking to record the Northlands Music Festival this June and wondering if anyone has been here and if they allow recording? I emailed them twice and haven't heard back...

I've done classical recordings before (piano, pipe organ, quintets, etc) and a few local bands here and there, but nothing like a festival/large outdoor concert. Any tips or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Gear that I'll be using:
Zoom F4
Rode NT5 matched pair (I have both cardioids and omni capsules)
Sony MDR7506 studio headphones
Impact 13' air cushioned light stand for the stereo bar + mics

Thanks!

Sam
« Last Edit: February 08, 2024, 08:55:58 AM by tapermansam »

Offline HealthCov Chris

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
    • InsideOut Recording & Promotions
Re: Brand new to taping live concerts, any tips?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2024, 07:04:09 PM »
I haven't been to Northlands, so I can't speak to that.  That lineup looks sweet!!! However, some important considerations to festival taping are as follows (not an exhaustive list).
1- Adequate windscreens
2- Adequate memory card size.  I use a seperate 128gb for each day, so I can start for first band and let run all day.  Don't want to run out of space, or be messing around with cards after libations have been had.
3- Adequate battery.  Know your consumption amount before you go.  Or take something like this for the day https://a.co/d/bi5STQ7 .  You can recharge it overnight.  I hate using smaller battery banks that may die.  Again...libations.