Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: M audio Mobile pre Newb  (Read 1745 times)

Offline tthcore

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
M audio Mobile pre Newb
« on: February 25, 2006, 11:24:00 AM »
Total newbness... I have a mobile pre i use for home recording and such.  Could i use that as a pre when i'm taping at a show, i'm getting a MiniDisc reocrder to record? Would that set up work? What kind of battery do i need to power the Pre?  Would i still be able to use the phantom power?  thanks....

Offline OOK

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • formerly OtherOneK
Re: M audio Mobile pre Newb
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2006, 01:18:43 PM »
From the looks of the rear panel it appears the only way to power this is through the USB port.  I don't have any experience with this pre but it appears it may only work when hooked up to a computer.  now if you could figure how to power the thing through the usb port with out a computer than it does appear possible to use it.  ideally you want a pre with a optical digital out, so you could run digi in on the md, but you can also run line in on the md and the pre in question has both 1/8 inch line out and 1/4 inch line outs.  The MD in question has a 1/8 line in and mini optical in on the same port......since it is my md you buying.

I suggest you look at soundprofessional

http://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/item/SP-PREAMP

http://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/item/SP-CMC-4

This is the set up I started with.  It will get your feet wet in the taping scene.  If you don't like it everything has a good resale value, especially the mics and pre.
DPA/HEB 4060's > R09HR
MBHO648/KA100Lk/KA200/KA300/KA500 > SD702

Offline poorlyconditioned

• Taperssection All-Star
  • I'm a tapir!
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2006, 03:13:40 PM »