Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: TSKB: Record player/turntable  (Read 5293 times)

stirinthesauce

• Trade Count: (0)
TSKB: Record player/turntable
« on: February 22, 2008, 05:34:14 PM »
So, I haven't played vinyl in maybe 20 years nor owned a record player in as long.  Need a decent player (preferrebly used for cost factor) for transfer purposes and to have for myself (wanting to start a vinyl collection).  Budget is around 200.  Thoughts, references, brand, model, selling yours, etc.  I have no knowledge on this subject. 

edit to add:  Thanks for the topic move, Brian.  Wasn't sure which place to put this.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2008, 06:21:00 PM by stirinthesauce »

stirinthesauce

Re: TSKB: Record player/turntable
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2008, 07:28:39 PM »
ok, I'm a sucker for vintage gear.  Love the "british" sound, nice and warm.  Any thoughts on restored vintage turntables?  Specifically, this one. 

http://cgi.ebay.com/VINTAGE-COLLARO-TURNTABLE-RECORD-PLAYER-45-78-33-LP-NR_W0QQitemZ250216633694QQihZ015QQcategoryZ48649QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Offline run_run_run

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 07:45:04 PM »
ok, I'm a sucker for vintage gear.  Love the "british" sound, nice and warm.  Any thoughts on restored vintage turntables?  Specifically, this one. 

http://cgi.ebay.com/VINTAGE-COLLARO-TURNTABLE-RECORD-PLAYER-45-78-33-LP-NR_W0QQitemZ250216633694QQihZ015QQcategoryZ48649QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Wow that looks cool

Offline cheshirecat

• Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2008, 07:45:36 PM »
I'd say your top picks are going to be the Rega P1 (Chris Sheppard may still be able to hook you up with a deal on this) MSRP should be $349, a little outside your range.

In vintage, you should be able to find some nice Thorens out there... I had a dual 1218 which was nice, but eventually crapped out with some of it's auto functions.