Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: "File damaged" error message Sony M10 during record?  (Read 3154 times)

Offline BusDriver

• Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Regular
"File damaged" error message Sony M10 during record?
« on: May 24, 2010, 10:32:50 PM »
I've had limited use of the m10 over the past 2 months and encountered this message when recording this weekend. I was recording on a new sony 8gig card. 1st set about 50 minutes was fine. At some point during 2nd set the file damaged message popped up. Recording was started again and went fine for about 40 minutes, then same message. I was unable to find the 2nd segment ( _02.wav) and was unable to play the 3rd ( _03.wav) until the next day.!?

I admit I'm new to digital, but the last several weeks have been ok. The new piece here is the sony M2 card. What do I look for to keep it happening again. Is the card defective? Does this symptom happen often? I believe I formatted the card in the recorder prior to using it. Recordings on built-in memory are fine.

Thanks in advance.

Offline ehren

• Taperssection Member
  • Of course this is a taper ticket!
Re: "File damaged" error message Sony M10 during record?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2010, 12:54:03 AM »
I would bet it's a bad card. Much cheaper to go the micro sd route anyway.

Offline Ozpeter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2010, 01:33:09 AM »
Maybe get what you can off the card, remove it, reinsert it (to reseat it), format it again in the M10, run it a few times till full and see if it keeps misbehaving.  If so try another card.  If that's ok then it would certainly appear to be a faulty card.

Offline BusDriver

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2011, 09:02:45 PM »
Responding to my own post ....