Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Compensating for cardioid bass roll off?  (Read 3987 times)

Offline n3mmr

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Compensating for cardioid bass roll off?
« on: December 21, 2016, 04:19:50 AM »
I have been recording a small jazz band on and off for a few months now, and, comparing my recordings using line audio OM1 with those using the CM3, I realize that I should try to compensate for the bass rolloff in my CM3 mics.
Can anybody offer some practical advice or just share some experience of such processing?

I do realize this is venue- and setup dependent, since the proximity effect varies with incidence angle.

Offline Sloan Simpson

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • Southern Shelter
Re: Compensating for cardioid bass roll off?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2016, 07:43:27 AM »
I use a Pultec-style EQ plugin for beefing up too-thin kick drums, specifically the Tube-Tech PE 1C

https://www.softube.com/index.php?id=pe1c

Offline Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2016, 10:12:22 AM »
I do realize this is venue- and setup dependent, since the proximity effect varies with incidence angle.