Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Analog > Digital  (Read 3633 times)

Offline Flip

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
Analog > Digital
« on: October 25, 2004, 02:48:23 PM »

I've been taping with Nak 100 w/cp4 in to a D6 since around 1986.  My little D6 has been a work horse for 18 years.  Only had one problem with it and that was because someone stepped on it.  After all this time my wife is finely going to allowed me to get some new toys.  I'm upgrading my system to sbm-1>d8.  I bought them off the Oade board this weekend.  They are suppose to have less than 30 hours on them.  It also included a RMR-D3k. I have included a pic of the package below.

I know that there are several accessories that I probably need to pick up.  Such as patch cable and probably a upgrade on my mic cables.  I still use the original ones that came with the mic's.  Is there any thing that I will need to plug the Nak's directly in to the SBM-1?  I don't want to go to my first show and find I'm missing something 

I have also been looking through the archives for helpful hints on the differences between taping digital vs. analog.  I know a lot of it is just practice and learning from mistakes.  If any of you could point me in the right direction to avoid any stupid mistakes I would be very grateful. 

After thinking about this a while, one of the things that really bothers me is that I won't have to worry about flipping a tape in the middle of a set any more.  Flipping the tape was always what made it feel like I was taping.  I guess I just have to sit back and smile, smile, smile.

Flip

Flip

Offline dnsacks

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Analog > Digital
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2004, 03:25:15 PM »
Flip -- welcome to the digital world.

Few thoughts to throw your way. 

1) New stuff you may need --