Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Monitor Reference Headphones....any recommendations?  (Read 2933 times)

Offline rdptha2nd

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • "Jazz is not dead...it just smells funny." - Zappa
    • Check Out Namaste!!!
Monitor Reference Headphones....any recommendations?
« on: December 10, 2004, 04:18:49 PM »
I know nothing about monitor reference headphones and I am not having much luck searching for them on the net and knowing the differences between the $50-$70 range and the $500 range.

Does anyone have any suggestions for which I should buy (I don't plan on spending over $100)

I am not a professional, but I want to use them for playback and mastering.

Thanks for the help-

Ron-
Recording: ADK A-51TL and/or Superlux SMKH8K > Digimod UA5 > Nomad JB3
Transfer: Nomad JB3 > Firewire > Nomad Explorer > T-Racks 2.0 > Soungforge 5.0 > CD WAV > FLAC Frontend

Check out http://www.namastemusic.com and/or http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=namaste

Offline Nick Culbreth

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Monitor Reference Headphones....any recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2004, 05:08:45 PM »
try doing so research on head-fi.org, lots of great info there.

Offline Tim

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2004, 10:24:33 PM »
try doing so research on head-fi.org, lots of great info there.

agreed. Off hand I would recommend the Sony MDR-7506... they are versatile (can be used at home or at a show or in a studio) and comfortable and sound great. They'll be right at $100. If you will only be listening at home and can use open cans I would recommend the Grado SR-80's for about the same price.

I'd recommend trying to stretch your budget a bit and add a headphone amp. Some come up here or on ebay or audiogon.com

I recommend headroom.com as a good place to shop.

Hope that helps....