Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Bad tubes?  (Read 2224 times)

Offline Tim

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Bad tubes?
« on: March 02, 2005, 09:24:10 PM »
Very faint volume coming from the left speaker.... I switched the cables at the amp and the right speakers was now faint. switched out the speaker cables with a new set and the speakers was still faint. switched el34 tubes back to the chinese stock's.... same thing.

since there is faint sound coming from the speaker I'm guessing that the channel itself isn't blown and that it may be just a driver tube problem. I'm still new to this tube game so I was wondering what some of you tube veterans thought?

I'm getting some new rca cleartop 12au7's next week but I'm having Jonny over for a listening session tomorrow... ::)

I may see if I can go find a cheap set locally...
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline cheshirecat

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Bad tubes?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2005, 09:39:10 PM »
Frist swap the tubes systematically (frist outputs, then switch back, then input tubes, and so on)from the right channel to the left channel (don't swap in new tubes until you have located the problem) if the problem follows the tubes, you have a bad tube.  If not, you have problems elsewhere, check coupling caps first, or bring the amp in to have it serviced.
SB2 / Rega P1 > Modified Dynaco PAS2 > Modified Dynaco MK-IV monoblocks> Axiom M22 v2

Offline Tim

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2005, 09:58:08 PM »
damn, store was closed... thanks for the help cheshire, I'm going to try and narrow it down to a specific driver tube...

it's either the 12au7's or it's a channel in my amp... please god let it be a tube :P