Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony pro d10 value ?  (Read 1588 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hotdog

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • Gender: Male
Sony pro d10 value ?
« on: January 13, 2018, 10:24:35 AM »
I know it's not much I have a Sony d10 pro dat  / porta brace Any one know a fair value ? If any lol 500 hrs last I checked with pro digital thanks .....Duncan
Schoeps CCM 4s /MK41vs//active /Nbox
> 702

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 694
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2018, 01:46:37 PM »
I have a D10ProII I bought for $250 several years back.  Super clean condition and still working well to this day.  Even has the digital in out cable.  Prices seem about the same on eBay except that one for Russia for $1600  :-\ 
A lot of people run a race to see who is the fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.

Offline hotdog

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2018, 05:09:46 PM »
I have a D10ProII I bought for $250 several years back.  Super clean condition and still working well to this day.  Even has the digital in out cable.  Prices seem about the same on eBay except that one for Russia for $1600  :-\
z

Thanks for the input  I'm going to list it 250 or best offer thumbs up
Schoeps CCM 4s /MK41vs//active /Nbox
> 702

Offline DSatz

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2566
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2018, 08:48:07 AM »
This deck requires special cables for digital I/O that have been unavailable from Sony for many years. If you have one or both cables (there's one for AES/EBU and one for S/P-DIF), be sure to list it/them; it will contribute significantly to the value.
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 694
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2018, 12:29:22 PM »
I have the AES-EBU version.  I didn't know there was a SPDIF version.
A lot of people run a race to see who is the fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.

Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
  • Get in touch if you wanna record Cracker or CVB!
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2018, 02:29:32 PM »
My D10 AES cable is looking old! I just noticed that the strain reliefs on both XLR connectors are dry-rotted and broken! :-\

Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Offline DSatz

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2566
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2018, 11:08:40 AM »
Yes, there were two different digital I/O cables--and the deck was arranged so that it would lock out recording at 44.1 kHz if you used the S/P-DIF cable, while with the AES/EBU cable you could record at any of the three available sampling rates (32 / 44.1 / 48). (This was back when the RIAA was fomenting huge panic about the possibility that audio CDs could be digitally copied and pirated.)

I accidentally damaged one of these cables; Sony still had replacements back then, costing ~$200 each. But they have long since run out.

The analog input circuitry for this deck is generally a nightmare. It requires very high levels to drive the XLR inputs to full modulation when they're set for line level, while if you set them for mike level, they overload very easily regardless of the record level settings--not very suitable for professional condenser microphones, even the ones that were in common use when this deck was introduced. And do I remember correctly that there's no phantom powering built in?
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 694
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2018, 12:57:31 PM »
I have the manual for the D10ProII and no mention of phantom power.  And no mention of a SPDIF cable either. 
A lot of people run a race to see who is the fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.

Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
  • Get in touch if you wanna record Cracker or CVB!
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sony pro d10 value ?
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2018, 07:41:36 PM »
The D10 lacks phantom power. I bought a Beyer MV100 preamp once I got my KM140s.

My machine was modified by Doug Oade so that the line level setting could be used for mics. You had to run the knob near 1-2 for hot mic signals.
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.181 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF