Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mic & firewire interface/ADC at $500, newbie in town  (Read 1968 times)

Offline tuco

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • Audiophile wannabe
    • twitter
Mic & firewire interface/ADC at $500, newbie in town
« on: August 25, 2010, 06:57:17 PM »
Hello forum, nice going really!

I'm pretty new to this as you can see, I'm supposed to record a friend's low-budget animation short film and you can only imagine how confused I am.

So, the machine/s that I'm looking is voiceover ones, should costs and not exceed (all-togather) 500ish USD.

• Mic:
First mic I stumbled upon was Shure PG42, liked what they claim, "Large diaphragm capsule provides wider dynamic range for clear highs and strong lows", 2nd mic was THE T.BONE SC440 USB, refereed by a friend.

• Interface:
Pretty clueless right here too, had (Mackie Onyx Satellite FireWire Recording System) as a first choice, (Onyx Blackjack) the second one.

You may ask, based on what I'm showing these specific models to purchase, well, some sounded good, others have been recommended by tapers...

If these are bad setups, or either won't go/aren't friendly togather, please advice and guide me to the right brand, model for each, and other accessories that I should be purchasing, e.g. special cables, stage stand, pops screen filters...

For that budget, is it hard to find decent, high quality stuff? I surely hope so..

Much appreciated.

Cheers.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 07:12:29 PM by tuco »

Offline admkrk

• Taperssection All-Star
  • I'm an idiot
Re: Mic & firewire interface/ADC at $500, newbie in town
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 08:16:23 PM »
what other uses to intend for your set up? or is this a one time deal?

if you're only going to record one track speech for a low budget animation, $500 sounds like a lot of overkill if you're never going to use it for anything else.
"the faster you go ahead, the behinder you get"