Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: It wasn't Eddie Van Halen's fault! (2007 Jump performance)  (Read 1743 times)

Online voltronic

• Trade Count: (40)
  • Needs to get out more...
It wasn't Eddie Van Halen's fault! (2007 Jump performance)
« on: September 03, 2023, 08:05:05 PM »
Many of you will know about the infamous 2007 performance by Van Halen in Greensboro, NC where they closed the concert with Jump, and Eddie got ripped from here to kingdom come all over the 'net for being so massively out of tune. Me being a pianist, I remember listening to that video and thinking it was actually the synth that sounded off, not Eddie.

When I recently posted that video with my comments on Counter.Social (an awesome alternative to Twitter I've been on since 2017, highly recommend, btw), it led to an interesting discussion with another member who is a pro guitarist and had been at the show. I decided I needed to figure out what exactly was going on. Was Eddie's guitar really out of tune? Was there a sample-rate mismatch on the synth recording? See what I found out here, with evidence:

https://counter.social/@voltronic/110981609058535144

If you want to skip right to the listening tracks I made:
https://mega.nz/folder/empzBToY#9-R0wK_dzwseEZMlrrSulQ
I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.
- Gustav Mahler

Acoustic Recording Techniques
Team Classical
Team Line Audio
Team DPA

Offline opsopcopolis

• Trade Count: (3)
Re: It wasn't Eddie Van Halen's fault! (2007 Jump performance)
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2023, 12:43:16 PM »
iirc it was pretty well documented to be the synth playing back at the wrong sample rate or something to that effect.

Edit: