Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Help With Buying Home DAT Player  (Read 2808 times)

Offline flphish

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Help With Buying Home DAT Player
« on: February 24, 2009, 09:57:18 PM »
I am in the process of buying a DAT player to use in my home. I have been recording with a Sony M-1 for many years now and would like to get something to listen to my old DAT's with. I was hoping to get some opinions on the various decks out there. I have someone local who has a Sony DTC-75ES they are looking to sell at a decent price. He seems to be a reputable dealer and says he knows the guy who had the DAT. He had a bunch of money, bought a lot of stuff and never really used it. It is still in the box he bought it in apparently. My other option is getting a TASCAM DA20 or Fostex D-5 from ebay. I am not looking to spend more than $75 and that does not seem to be an issue. If anyone can offer any opinions, especially about the Sony DTC-75ES (local pick up makes it much more appealing) I would appreciate it. Thanks!

Offline Gordon

• Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • my list
Re: Help With Buying Home DAT Player
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2009, 12:40:07 AM »
what's wrong with the M1?  why not use it?

I have no experience with the sony you mention but I've had a tascam da20 for 10 years and it's been a tank!  still use it to transfer.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6 II @ 32/48

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

https://archive.org/details/teamdirtysouth

Offline flphish

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2009, 09:33:13 AM »
The M-1 works fine, I just would like to get a home unit to play/transfer my older DAT's so I don't put any more usage on the m-1 then I need to. That is the device I use primarilly for recording.

Offline JasonSobel

• Trade Count: (8)
    • My show list
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2009, 10:04:00 AM »