Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mic Setup  (Read 4585 times)

Offline okietaper

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Mic Setup
« on: February 19, 2005, 07:29:49 PM »
I should probably start off with I am a total newbie.  I am currently using Studio Projects C4 mics and when I was first looking into getting these mics I inquired on  the OADE forum and was advised that with my current setup I would need attenuators for the C4 mics to work good.  Here is my current recording setup.

C4>PS-2>SONY MD

I have only recorded one show with this setup and it did not turn out so well.   I plan to purchase an Edirol UA-5 in the very near future.  This will replace the PS-2.  Will the UA-5 decrease or eliminate my need for the attenuators?  What the heck do attenuators do anyway? 

Thanks

Offline leegeddy

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Mic Setup
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2005, 07:39:02 PM »
I should probably start off with I am a total newbie.  I am currently using Studio Projects C4 mics and when I was first looking into getting these mics I inquired on  the OADE forum and was advised that with my current setup I would need attenuators for the C4 mics to work good.  Here is my current recording setup.

C4>PS-2>SONY MD

I have only recorded one show with this setup and it did not turn out so well.   I plan to purchase an Edirol UA-5 in the very near future.  This will replace the PS-2.  Will the UA-5 decrease or eliminate my need for the attenuators?  What the heck do attenuators do anyway? 

Thanks

c4 outputs a very low voltage signal (mic level). ps2 is only a phantom power supply. it only powers your condensor mics.
some folks use what's called a "Lo Z > High Z" transformer.  basically, this xformer steps up the mic level signal to a line level signal which is hotter/stronger so you can feed a device a line level. 

yes, a UA5 as a phantom power/preamp/a>d converter will replace your ps2.