Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Few questions from the beginner  (Read 1973 times)

Offline Teppka

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Few questions from the beginner
« on: May 23, 2023, 02:18:40 AM »
Or maybe more than a few. I’m new to sound recording and have few questions in particular to Sony PCM-D100 and sound recording in general. Asking few of them in D100 thread didn’t get any answers, so I’ll try here. Thanks to anyone for replies.

1. Built in mics Sony PCM-D100 have 3 positions, X/Y, A/B and l l or I’d call parallel. My understanding is X/Y is for smaller sound sources, forward directional. A/B for wider sound sources which should also bring better stereo effect and separation. But what parallel l l position is used for?

2. What would be best mic’s position for ambient sound, cat eating, car engine, music recording, city sounds?

3. For say recording cat eating or grooming, should I better use mono recording than stereo?

4. How to proper set gain for ambient sound recording? I’m trying to avoid post processing at all and enjoy recording itself.

5. For video sync I’ll go with 24bit 48kHz. But for audio only, say ambient sound should I go with higher settings like- 96 kHz/24-bit? My understanding that anything higher is more for pro users like sound designers.

6. Any recommendations for file/folder names for sound recordings?

7. Any useful info from PCM-D100 users regarding usage scenarios for LFC,  LIMITER and S/N 100dB?

Any other valuable suggestions for beginner with portable recorder using built-in mics would help.

Offline Twenty8

• Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Heading for a better thesis
Re: Few questions from the beginner
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2023, 09:09:53 AM »
1.  Interviews in mono?
2 and 3.  A/B and stereo
4.  Um... someone else can answer this more gently.  I'll just say that recording is just a small amount of what we do.