Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: best sp/dif cable??  (Read 6100 times)

Offline digitalcandy926

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
best sp/dif cable??
« on: April 12, 2008, 08:46:20 PM »
wondering what high quality sp/dif cable's people use????  specifically for a microtrack

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
Re: best sp/dif cable??
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2008, 09:44:27 PM »
Belden makes a good on3.

Check on ebay.  You can grab em for 0.99 cents.

I'm sure we could get into the whole my super-duper silver oxide/kevlar/braided spider silk cables sound better than yours do routine..but remember this SPDIF cable is just dropping electrical impulses about 3 ft to your microtrack. 

I'd stay for the cheapo's and have someone pr00ve you wrong on the quality of 1's and 0's being dropped to your MT

but just my 0.3 cents

K
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline shaggy

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • dwonk
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2008, 09:53:04 PM »
I run a 300yen 0.5m 75ohm video cable from the UA-5 to the MT.  Cool thing about the cheapy is that I could cut the jacket around the connector sleeve of the plug and the make the connector fit perfectly into that flush coax jack that M-Audio poorly designed (there is like 0.5mm of space around the jack, no shit!).

I'd concentrate on your analog connections.

Offline mblindsey

• Trade Count: (23)
  • Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2008, 12:13:00 AM »
I went for the http://kindkables.com S/PDIF cable for the link between my V3 and MT II.  I wouldn't make the claim that it sounds any better than cheaper cables, but it seems like it is built for years of use and I paid extra for something that I don't think I'll ever have to buy again.  Also, I like the right angle ends.

--Michael