Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Shotgun Self Powered 1/8th inch?  (Read 2959 times)

Offline aleatoric

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Shotgun Self Powered 1/8th inch?
« on: November 17, 2008, 11:23:59 AM »
So I am just getting into the wonderful world of field recording.  I picked up a PCM-D50 about a week ago and love it.  The internal mic's sound great and the pre is nice and smooth, quality converters and headphone amp as well.  I am noticing how sensitive the mic's are, they excel in ambiance recording and basically any other recording where outside noise is minimal.  However I am considering adding a more directional external mic (mono or stereo) to my aresenal.  I don't really want to spend $500 on the XLR phantom power extension for the PCM-D50 so I am wondering what my options are for a shotgun or hypercard mic that has battery powered phantom and a 1/8 inch output?  Does anything like this exist?  Would be a great companion to the excellent internal mics on the PCM-D50 I feel.  Thanks. 

Offline vanark

• TDS
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Shotgun Self Powered 1/8th inch?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2008, 11:47:04 AM »
I think some are running chopped/hacked NAK's as you describe.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at LMA(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: Microtech Gefell M21 (with Nbob actives) | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: babynbox
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Tascam DR-40 | Sony PCM-A10 | Edirol R-4

Offline rastasean

• in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2008, 11:56:34 AM »
Welcome to the board.