Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS  (Read 11917 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheMetalist

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 354
  • Sverige/Sweden/Suède
The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« on: October 28, 2016, 03:55:42 PM »
Today I received my new gear from Nick, Nbob actives for AKG CK6x capsules and...

The new version of Nbox Platinum with a nice and sturdy plastic case.

Hopefully it will pass through (maybe not the most effective but some) metal detectors. This is definately longed for by some stealth tapers (including myself).  :coolguy:





"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

Offline robeti

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 800
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2016, 10:34:44 AM »
Looks great!
mics schoeps mk4/mk41 (matched) | nakamichi cm-300 (JB mod/cp1/cp2/cp3) | nakamichi cm-50 | primo em4052pmi4's | sp-cmc-4u/at-853 4.7k mod (shotguns/h/c/sc/) | ca-11 c/o
power ca-ubb | ca-9200 | nbob actives > baby nbox 
recorder roland r-05 
video panasonic zs100 | panasonic hdc-sd600 | sony hx9v | sony hx50v
playback fiio m17 > final d8000

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (59)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5931
  • Gender: Male
  • Maplewood, MN
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2016, 11:23:33 AM »
Looking good!  Are the dimensions of the new ABS plastic Nbox identical to the metal Nbox dimensions?

hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline TheMetalist

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 354
  • Sverige/Sweden/Suède
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2016, 01:01:27 PM »
Looking good!  Are the dimensions of the new ABS plastic Nbox identical to the metal Nbox dimensions?


I don't have the regular Platinum but Nick said the dimensions are the same. Looking at the components inside the case I don't think it's possible to shrink the size without removing some components.

Here's the size of the ABS:
4.7x3.5x1.4 in (12x9x3,5 cm)
"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (59)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5931
  • Gender: Male
  • Maplewood, MN
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2016, 01:56:45 PM »
^
Thank you!
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2016, 02:00:57 PM »
Cool stuff indeed. I still prefer the metal case for walking to my car from the venue in a shitty neighborhood at night. Getting hit in the head with the original (full of 9v batteries) will quickly change the priorities of any assailant.

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3723
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2016, 05:00:39 PM »
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2016, 05:09:12 PM »
Touché

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (85)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2261
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2016, 07:24:59 PM »
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol:
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline swordfish

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 368
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2016, 12:40:15 PM »
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2016, 12:42:26 PM »
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=168809.msg2203684#msg2203684

Offline swordfish

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 368
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2016, 04:47:05 AM »
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=168809.msg2203684#msg2203684
Thanks

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1557
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2020, 10:41:34 AM »
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

Offline jerryfreak

  • No PZ
  • Trade Count: (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 6205
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2020, 11:35:26 AM »
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:
im picturing a ‘pimp of the year’ scene
currently "banned" for this "controversial" post
email me if you need to connect, as i am not allowed to send PM

Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8951
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2020, 11:37:13 AM »
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

Never have.  Bring mics, recorder and headphones if you have any concerns.  I have carried mine through SFO, LAX, JFK, McCarron in LV, Logan in Boston, Heathrow in London and never gotten a second look.  My old RBox on the other hand caught their eye every time.

Offline Craig T

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4290
    • LMA
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2020, 11:41:06 AM »
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Schoeps cmc6/4v / Line Audio CM3, OM1 / ADK A51 / Church Audio CA-14
Naiant Tinybox v2.2 / NBox(P) / Apogee Mini-MP / Church Audio ST9200 / CA-UGLY
Sony PCM-M10 / Tascam DR-70D

Offline ero3030

  • Trade Count: (59)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1614
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2020, 01:10:56 PM »
 8)we'd
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Yep, always give mine a swab.  And me too as I look shady!!
needin some fishhead music!

" known for f**king up a good weekend on a Thursday nite "

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3552
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2021, 10:39:13 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (64)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2039
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2021, 06:57:44 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?



Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8951
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2021, 08:56:28 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

+1

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3552
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2021, 09:29:37 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3723
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2021, 10:33:32 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Did the opposite recently. Plugged my baby-N into line in on M-10 instead of mic in. Low levels but still a nice recording...

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6792
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2021, 11:00:50 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?
for the win, same thing happened to me this year.
Luck fellow taper Greg saved me.

Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3552
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2021, 12:01:01 PM »
Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.

I responded via PM.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1557
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2021, 01:54:57 PM »
With the baby nbox, I've always gone audio in on A-10 for lo-pro. Mic in from the section, of course

Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8951
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #25 on: November 18, 2021, 03:19:45 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?


We are all making mistakes after being on the bench for ages.  Hopefully you solved this one.
Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3552
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #26 on: July 13, 2022, 09:01:32 AM »
This is probably as good a place as any to ask this ~

I've had this happen a few times while running MK41s > Platinum NBox > Sony A10.  I'm at a loud show near the stage and even with the Platinum Nbox dialed down to an input level of 1 or 2, it's still too hot for the A10.  However, in the same situation, the Baby Nbox - dialed down to 4-5 - can handle it.  Is it just me and my gear, or does this sound about right?
Mics: Schoeps MK41s >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (41)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3912
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #27 on: July 13, 2022, 11:05:18 AM »
This is probably as good a place as any to ask this ~

I've had this happen a few times while running MK41s > Platinum NBox > Sony A10.  I'm at a loud show near the stage and even with the Platinum Nbox dialed down to an input level of 1 or 2, it's still too hot for the A10.  However, in the same situation, the Baby Nbox - dialed down to 4-5 - can handle it.  Is it just me and my gear, or does this sound about right?

The Nbox supplies gain - it's a preamp - I think it's 18dB maybe 20db. The babyNbox just supplies power to the mics no gain at all. So that jives with your experience.
Line Audio CM3 || ADK A51 type IV
SD MixpreD || Oade Warm Mod UA5
Tascam DR680 || Marantz PMD661 || Korg MR1 (homebrew internal battery mod)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline yug du nord

  • ...til things never seen seem familiar…
  • Trade Count: (56)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5495
  • made with natural flavor
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #28 on: July 13, 2022, 03:20:00 PM »
I am not familiar with Nbox Platinum structure..  but am familiar with Nbox+..  that is a fixed +20db/preamp.
Baby Nbox is a battery box with no gain.
As goodcooker said.

A10 must have slightly hot input.
When I ran Nbox+, I also had -12db attenuation cables out of Nbox that I used on occasion.

Is this all on the line input?

When this happens in real life, about the only thing that you can do is either angle your capsules wider, muffle them somewhat, or lower them.
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.099 seconds with 51 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF