Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Not enough SPL for microphones?  (Read 579 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mrfender

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 329
Not enough SPL for microphones?
« on: August 08, 2022, 08:08:14 AM »
So I was trying to tape a show this weekend with some CA14s and could not get the peak to go past maybe -18.  Normally I use my M10 but been trying out a DR2d for the dual recording abilities.  So the set up is CA14s > CA9100 > DR2d (line in/ gain medium).  Low cut and level controls off,  internal gain settings at 65/95 as noted in other threads.  I had the preamp turned up to max and still really low recording levels.  9v battery tests at 8.8 volts so I don't think it was that.  One thing is that the PA sound was so low I didn't use my earplugs - could that be the cause? SPL level so low it won't properly drive the mics?  Or did i mess up something on the deck settings?
DR-01, DR-05, DR-22wl, DR-40, PCM-M10, Roland R-07
CA-11 omni, CA-14 card/omni, at853 cards/omni, Nak CM-300 cards/omni

Offline unidentified

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 262
  • Gender: Male
Re: Not enough SPL for microphones?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2022, 08:18:47 AM »
"internal gain settings at 65/95"?  That seems low for the medium setting.  When I use the DR2D I usually set it at somewhere between 90 to 95 on medium (based on threads here that I recall seeing back when), with a CA9200 pre-amp set at 15 db.  Always good, although the resulting wav form is usually smaller (quieter) than what I get with a Sony PCM M-10 in a comparable setting.    What was the setting on your CA9100? 

Offline mrfender

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 329
Re: Not enough SPL for microphones?
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2022, 09:21:22 AM »
Sorry for the confusion, the Line in was at 95.  Was thinking about old threads that say 65 for mic in, 95 for line in. The 9100 was cranked all the way up so I think it maxes at -25 or -30?  Probably operator error I'm sure, at least I can amplify the snot of it in Audacity and it's ok.
DR-01, DR-05, DR-22wl, DR-40, PCM-M10, Roland R-07
CA-11 omni, CA-14 card/omni, at853 cards/omni, Nak CM-300 cards/omni

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (64)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2039
  • Gender: Male
Re: Not enough SPL for microphones?
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2022, 10:02:10 AM »
Is there really medium setting for the line input?

If so I have to go through my settings.

Offline unidentified

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 262
  • Gender: Male
Re: Not enough SPL for microphones?
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2022, 01:35:07 PM »
Is there really medium setting for the line input?

If so I have to go through my settings.

Yes, there is.

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (64)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2039
  • Gender: Male
Re: Not enough SPL for microphones?
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2022, 08:05:18 PM »
Is there really medium setting for the line input?

If so I have to go through my settings.

Yes, there is.


Actually i just read the manual and as i suspected the LOW,MID,HIGH gain settings ONLY affect the MIC INPUT not the LINE INPUT.

Offline unidentified

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 262
  • Gender: Male
Re: Not enough SPL for microphones?
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2022, 06:46:27 AM »
Yikes. I'm wrong again. I should have double checked before I spoke up so confidently. Well, l have always gotten good results running line in with the gain set in the low 90s and a Church pre-amp running at 15 or 30 dbs. Thanks for the correction.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2022, 06:48:01 AM by unidentified »

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.036 seconds with 30 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF