Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Deverberate  (Read 2022 times)

Offline jnorman

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • I'm a llama!
Deverberate
« on: September 13, 2022, 07:18:30 PM »
I don’t know who might need to hear this, but I do believe many tapers are forced into situations where they must record from less than optimal distances, and often can get way more arena/hall ambience in their recordings than they might want.  Since I often do recordings of live instruments in a smallish studio, I started playing around with Acon Deverberate to help get rid of the “small room” sound, and after much experimentation I can actually make it work pretty well.  After a friend from Australia sent me a recording he had made from too far back in an auditorium that had far too much hall reverb in it and asked me to try to remove the reverb, I found it was quite effective, and it made me think that some of you taperheads might also be able to use the software to clean up and improve the work you do.
There are a few other software plugins that also claim to “deverb” recordings, but the acon plugin works well and isn’t too spendy.  If you have any questions, LMK.  Otherwise, you might want to DL a demo and try it out.  I have no connection to acon - I am just reporting on my experience.

Offline EmRR

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
    • ElectroMagnetic Radiation Recorders
Re: Deverberate
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2022, 11:00:32 PM »
Haven't tried that one. but can add those with izotope RX de-reverb, I'm seldom happy with what it does, but the 'enhance dry signal' check box with no other processing is frequently useful. 
Mics: DPA 4060 w/MPS 6030 PSU/DAD6001/DAD4099, Neumann KM 131, Oktava MK 012, Sennheiser MKH 105, MKH 20, MKH 30, MKH 40, MKH 800 TWIN
Recorders: Zoom F8n, Sony MZ-R50

Offline capnhook

• All your llamas are belong to us....
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...