Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Cable Sound Quality question  (Read 4187 times)

Offline atxwolfattack

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Cable Sound Quality question
« on: March 06, 2007, 01:47:45 AM »
I had a quick question, and i guess different people have different opinions on the subject, but...

Say i am recording a show through the board, and i am using some regular old mini 1/8" male to 2 rca male out of my preamp into the board, say something like this...

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=6334111&type=product&productCategoryId=cat08053&id=1077625917379

or say i buy some more expensive $70 dollar mini to rca cable that is obviously of higher quality, at least build wise, am i really going to be able to hear any difference?

Im just saying because i am about to buy some cable and adapters so i can start doing soundboard recordings when i get the change, and i really am pretty low on money at this point (i'm a student), if i am not putting tons of wear and tear on the cable, would using a cheaper cable really make any difference compared to a 'better' cable?

thanks.

Offline OFOTD

• Amorican
  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Cable Sound Quality question
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2007, 01:51:38 AM »
Remember the adage "You get what you pay for"

There are several places on the net where you can get some quality cables on a budget.  First and foremost is the yard sale here.   Check around.  Consider buying used. 

Offline noahbickart

• phishrabbi
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (33)
  • So now I wander over grounds of light...
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2007, 06:33:21 AM »
Here's the problem:

On the one hand, bad cables can ruin a recording. Good connections, quality cable construction, etc. is important.

On the other hand, lost of folks out there are selling snake oil. Cables can sell for more than a pair of Schoeps tubes, and that's a waste on money.