Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SP-BMC-12 Question  (Read 2479 times)

Offline eric51078

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
SP-BMC-12 Question
« on: March 30, 2007, 10:21:11 AM »
Hi Everyone!
I have the SP-BMC-12 mics and the SP-SPSB-10 bass roll-off thing. I have never used it before and I will be recording a fairly loud concert tomorrow now. I am just confused as to what I should have the roll-off settings set to. I went to a local bar and recorded a very very loud bassy band and I had my settings set to: 160HZ...but I am going to be in a venue that holds no more than 1000 people and I am sitting right up against the soundboard...all advice would be great...I personally don't trust the advice of the guy at SP.

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: SP-BMC-12 Question
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 01:50:01 PM »
I am curious why you do not trust the guy at SP.  I would think he would know what he is tlkaing about.  What put you off him/her?
Nov schmoz kapop.

Offline Arni99

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2007, 05:37:30 PM »
i would use the same setting ...160Hz.
had the sp-bmc-6 mics in the past.
it was ok using 160Hz at loud bassy funk/rock shows.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2007, 05:43:17 PM by Arni99 »
1st: SONY PCM-M10 + DPA 4060's + DPA MPS 6030 power supply (microdot)
2nd: iPhone 5 + "Rode iXY" microphone/"Zoom IQ5" microphone

Offline Church-Audio

• Trade Count: (44)
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2007, 05:49:13 PM »
Hi Everyone!