Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: HiMD mechanical troubles......  (Read 2423 times)

Offline yug du nord

• ...til things never seen seem familiar…
  • Trade Count: (56)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • made with natural flavor
HiMD mechanical troubles......
« on: October 05, 2008, 02:02:37 PM »
I had my Sony MZ-RH10 HiMD recorder connected to the computer via USB last night for transferring purposes...  and all of a sudden, it stopped transferring and the display on the recorder read "ACCESS ERROR".  So, I disconnected it from the PC...  and took the disc out.  And from that point on, whenever I put a disc in...  the display reads "NO DISC".  The disc does not register and doesn't even spin (at least I can't hear it fire up).  I have been using Sony HiMD/MD units for the past 6+ years, and have never had this happen to me before.  Has anyone else ever encountered this?  Any suggestions?  I think that I can send it into Sony for a repair/swap, but at a significant cost...  so it might finally be time to retire the HiMD format (kinda, as I still have another HiMD deck)...  and move up to a 24bit flash/solid state hand-held. 

Any suggestions?  Thanks!
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: HiMD mechanical troubles......
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2008, 04:13:58 PM »
This has not happened to me, yet.  HiMD is a great format for recording to WAV with a tiny and good machine.  It is also a "mature" product.  I do not think SONY is going to invest much in it anymore.  It may be time to move on.

Cheers
Nov schmoz kapop.

nameloc01

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2008, 05:50:04 PM »
There is much wisdom here:

www.minidisc.org

Offline sunjan

• Taping since 1988, 28 years of fine recordings...
    • Just a handful of stuff I put on etree
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2008, 05:06:58 PM »