Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SD Cards for Audio  (Read 789 times)

Offline moondust.and.solitude

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Holding hands singing kumbaya
SD Cards for Audio
« on: November 28, 2023, 08:18:23 PM »
In the pursuit of perfection (that's a joke, so don't read too much into that) I came across Tascam's 128GB SD card.  I am curious if it's worth shelling out $179 for it? I don't mind the price if it has benefits over other SD cards ... is there other SD cards (microSd, SDxc ...) that I should look into besides this one?

I'm not a newbie, but if I can learn something here and upgrade my current transferring rig, I'm always up to learning and listening.

https://tascam.com/us/product/tsqd-128a/top
Mics: Lewitt LCT-040; Naiant X-X Omni's; Audio Technica U853AW's; Sony ECM-166BMP's; Audio Technica AT-853's.
Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Cables; Canare Custom Cables, UniStar LilRed Whip.
Recorders: Tascam DR-100mkIII; Tascam DR-05x, Tascam PortaCapture X8, Sony PCM-A10.
Misc: Samsung EVO Plus 128GB SDXC Cards.
RayoVac Fusion Batteries.

Offline SMsound

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: SD Cards for Audio
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2023, 09:11:06 PM »
In the pursuit of perfection (that's a joke, so don't read too much into that) I came across Tascam's 128GB SD card.  I am curious if it's worth shelling out $179 for it? I don't mind the price if it has benefits over other SD cards ... is there other SD cards (microSd, SDxc ...) that I should look into besides this one?

I'm not a newbie, but if I can learn something here and upgrade my current transferring rig, I'm always up to learning and listening.

https://tascam.com/us/product/tsqd-128a/top

Why would you pay $179 for an SD card rebranded by an audio company when you can get a top quality (SanDisk, Samsung, Kingston, LeXaR) fast SD card for $10-$30?