Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Edirol R-09/M-Audio Microtrack, what's the best sound quality?I'm a newbie here.  (Read 4897 times)

Offline Soundhound

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I'm a newbie here. I want to get the best quality I can to record some band rehearsals. What's the best quality I can expect from these portable devices, and which one(s) would you recommend? Will the internal mics do the job, or should I use better quality mics, etc. Any others besides the two I mentioned that I should be looking at? Thanks!!

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
What's your budget?

If you're recording analog-in, I'd go with the R-09.  Digital-in, I'd go with the MicroTrack.  Also, there are 16-bit options for less money which may suit your needs, like the Nomad JB3, iRiver H1x0, and...rats, forget the other one.  Even Hi-MD may suit your needs, depending on your requirements and budget.

As for the included / internal mics, I haven't used them.  Any reason you couldn't get the unit, try it out with the internal / included mics, and if it doesn't produce the results you want, add external mics afterwards?
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Soundhound

• Taperssection Newbie
$500 or so is the budget. Want to spend as much as it takes to get something that's easy to use and gets us the best sound we can get to record some rehearsals. We just need to get some tunes on tape quick for some club/booking people around town who have expressed interest/are holding dates open for us, etc...

Do you think the Edirol or Microtracks will sound good enough?

Offline divamum

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member