Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recording with Edirol R-09 Internals Help Please.  (Read 2796 times)

Offline lachy_legend

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Recording with Edirol R-09 Internals Help Please.
« on: June 02, 2008, 02:58:43 AM »
hi guys im a total noob, and i am going to be recording a concert in a few weeks with an R-09 and i dont have any externals so ill be using internals. can i please have some advice as to how i get the best results.
where to be positioned, and all the settings i should have it set to for the best results possible?

thanks
Lachy

Offline Nixoo

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Recording with Edirol R-09 Internals Help Please.
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2008, 12:36:12 PM »
I think the internals are quite useless for concertrecordings. I've tried a couple of times but got better results with my selfmade panasonic caps wa61 mics. The internals are quite nice for lets say band rehearsals etc but for true concerts it's quite a pain.
Anyway, I'll give it a try. Above all, record manually using manual levelsettings, so adjust your levels on the fly. That means you'll have to check levels during the show and change when needed. You'll probably have to move the recorder in order to change recording levels which will be audible in your final result.
AGC OFF
LOW CUT OFF
MIC GAIN LOW

+T for trying though, fingers crossed!
Recorders: Edirol R-09, Zoom H2
Mics: Soundman OKMII Pop, AT853 (4.7k mod), DPA4061, CA11 Cards, CA11 Omi, CA14 Cards
CA-Ugly 2 preamp, SP BB, CA BB
Photo/Video: Panasonic TZ40, Panasonic LX100, Canon 550D

Offline Jeremy Lykins

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2008, 01:05:55 PM »
i am going to be recording a concert in a few weeks with an R-09 and ... ill be using internals.