Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New Taper - need advice on setup  (Read 1988 times)

Offline vibralux

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
New Taper - need advice on setup
« on: December 03, 2007, 08:46:29 AM »
Hi guys,

This is my first post here so let me say Hi to everyone!

I am basically a studio animal, but recently I suffer from „alien studio guy syndrome” and wanted to go out to the world and record some samples out there. I was thinking a lot  and read this forum for some time now, but the time has come and I need Your advice.

Well, as I  mentioned I am a music producer and wanted to record some outside samples. Let's say for quick comparision- I am working on something like Amon Tobin last CD. So- I want to record many samples- anything ranging from animal sounds, random nature sounds to ambient, instrument and basically anything that makes sounds.

Now I need a very small intuitive recorder capable od 24bit /44.1. - that I wanna do with Marantz pmd 620 - the price is right and I know from studio experience that the mic and pre are more important anyway. Which brings me to the second thing: Which mic?  It needs to be flexible (for many different sounds and applications - i know such a mic does not exist, but there are some more flexible mic s out there right?) , have a very low self handling noise as I will mostly record it with my hands, and it and the top  budget I have for it is 900$  It would be a bonus if I could use it also in studio situations. Now I thought about the Earthworks SR 30 thing - what do You guys thinks about this one- will this do well for me?  Probably I would need a preamp with it right? Church audio?

Would that work? Sr30- Church Audio Pre- pmd 620?

I also consider a shotgun mic. Is that a good idea? Or should I go for it later?

I would appreciate any help. Thanks in advance!

Cheers

Marty

Offline NOLAfishwater

• is not taping much these days
  • Trade Count: (72)