Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Devices 302+Zoom H4n versus Just Sound Devices 702?  (Read 17670 times)

Offline skimmel

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Sound Devices 302+Zoom H4n versus Just Sound Devices 702?
« on: August 24, 2010, 03:14:36 AM »
I'm new to the audio and video thing ("old" at the still photo thing), but getting into it pretty seriously and trying to get as clean audio as possible.  Am shooting video with a DSLR (Nikon D3s).

Mostly will be dialogue/voice overs, but hopefully down the road some choral work. I bought a Zoom H4n but am not particularly happy with it -- in particular, with a Rode NTG-2, I have to crank the levels up to 100 (top) to get a decent signal. Sound is OK, but there is some hiss that bugs me.

So, I was thinking of investing in either a better portable recorder (and am particularly attracted to the Sound Devices 702) versus getting a better preamp/mixer and running that either into the H4n or perhaps a slightly better recorder.  If I go with an SD 302 and a Fostex FR-2LE, the cost is actually less than that for just the SD 702. 

So, would like to hear from the experienced group here about the pluses and minuses of each of these choices: An SD 302 mixer into either a Zoom H4n or, say, Fostex FR-2LE versus just using an SD 702.

Thanks.

Offline oleg

• Taperssection Member
  • I'm a proud Jew
    • you can find me here
Re: Sound Devices 302+Zoom H4n versus Just Sound Devices 702?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 08:35:22 AM »
first check if you supply 48 v ph to your mic with zoom, as ntg need to se 48 and not 24 .
if you use internal battery , don't do it , there is some degradation in audio during low  battery voltage , better use ext power .