Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)  (Read 183671 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline thebigredone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #645 on: March 26, 2024, 04:14:02 AM »
using the internal mics, record level of 6 with limiter on will be as good as it gets, in my experience.
Have not really tried without the limiter...

At a loud gig I couldn't get past 1 without it clipping. Now using externals and a BB.

Offline shadowfax1007

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 175
  • Gender: Male
    • BNELive
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #646 on: March 27, 2024, 11:15:09 PM »
So I did some extensive reading on the A10 before buying one recently, but one thing I never found a clear answer on was the cause of the channel failures.
I saw a bunch of people theorise that it was 12V battery boxes killing the input - was that ever confirmed? For people who did have an A10 die, can you comment if you were using 9V or 12V BB's.

I've currently got a 12V BB but if it's going to kill my A10, I'll make a 9V version if it's going to be safer.
www.bnelive.net

Mics:
SP-CMC-2 (Cardioid & Sub-Cardioid caps)
SP-BMC-12 (Omni)
SP-BMC-1 (Omni)

Power:
SP-SPSB-10

Recorders:
Olympus LS-10
Olympus LS-12
Sony PCM-A10

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1828
  • If it's too loud, turn it down.
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #647 on: March 28, 2024, 01:51:47 AM »
You should have a DC blocking cap at the battery box output for each channel. Might want to start there - see if you get a DC reading with mics plugged in.
Mics: mk4v/mk41v/mk22 > CMC1L/Nbobs, MKE2
Preamps: Nbox Platinum ABS, Baby Nbox
Recorders: Mixpre-6 ii, PCM-A10

Offline Sebastian

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1606
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #648 on: March 28, 2024, 03:53:05 AM »
Also, I wouldn't rule out a mechanical problem, e.g. bad solder joints on the A10's inputs. That is the most common cause for channel failures in any audio gear. And since the A10 can supply a microphone bias voltage, I would expect it to have DC blocking capacitors in front of its amps to protect them from its own bias voltage. Of course if these caps are only rated up to a certain voltage (e.g. 6V) that would be insufficient. But these are all assumptions. I have never opened mine and I've never had these kinds of problems myself.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2024, 03:55:13 AM by Sebastian »

Offline shadowfax1007

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 175
  • Gender: Male
    • BNELive
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #649 on: March 29, 2024, 02:16:40 AM »
You should have a DC blocking cap at the battery box output for each channel. Might want to start there - see if you get a DC reading with mics plugged in.

So just to ensure I'm understanding you correctly:
1) Plug in microphones into battery box input
2) Use a multimeter at the battery box output and test for DC voltage? If so, where am I putting the positive and negative probes?

I'm using a SP-SPSB-10 from the Sound Professionals, so hopefully there is DC blocking.
www.bnelive.net

Mics:
SP-CMC-2 (Cardioid & Sub-Cardioid caps)
SP-BMC-12 (Omni)
SP-BMC-1 (Omni)

Power:
SP-SPSB-10

Recorders:
Olympus LS-10
Olympus LS-12
Sony PCM-A10

Offline mrfender

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 487
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #650 on: March 29, 2024, 06:58:50 AM »
So I did some extensive reading on the A10 before buying one recently, but one thing I never found a clear answer on was the cause of the channel failures.
I saw a bunch of people theorise that it was 12V battery boxes killing the input - was that ever confirmed? For people who did have an A10 die, can you comment if you were using 9V or 12V BB's.

I've currently got a 12V BB but if it's going to kill my A10, I'll make a 9V version if it's going to be safer.

Well that sucks.  I was in the process of building a small 12v box but maybe I'll switch it over to a 9v using an A29 battery.   
DR2d, DR-44wl, DR-608, PCM-M10, Roland R-07, PCM-A10
CA-14 card/omni, AT853 cards/omni, Nak CM-300 cards/omni, Line Audio CM4

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1828
  • If it's too loud, turn it down.
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #651 on: March 29, 2024, 08:19:39 AM »
You should have a DC blocking cap at the battery box output for each channel. Might want to start there - see if you get a DC reading with mics plugged in.

So just to ensure I'm understanding you correctly:
1) Plug in microphones into battery box input
2) Use a multimeter at the battery box output and test for DC voltage? If so, where am I putting the positive and negative probes?

I'm using a SP-SPSB-10 from the Sound Professionals, so hopefully there is DC blocking.

Yes, plug mics in and set your meter to DC volts. With the battery box output plug, put black probe on ground (should be furthest from the tip) and check the ring and tip for dc voltage. You should not see anything but if you get a mV or two it’s not a big deal.
Mics: mk4v/mk41v/mk22 > CMC1L/Nbobs, MKE2
Preamps: Nbox Platinum ABS, Baby Nbox
Recorders: Mixpre-6 ii, PCM-A10

Offline sos

  • Trade Count: (56)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #652 on: June 14, 2024, 02:18:06 PM »
Dumbass me, laundered my first A10 the other day. lol. Can't live without one of these, so went and re-ordered one, right away. Pulled the card, and it's a very clean-looking 32GB Sandisk Extreme.

Can anyone refresh me, whether this is the largest card to play it safe with? Is anyone using 64GB/larger? Very cute lil paperweight. This never woulda happened with a D-8!
Mics
AKG:  Naiant actives (CK61/62/63-ULS) & C568 B
Audio-Technica:  AT853 (all caps)
Nakamichi:  Franken Nak(s): CM-300 (CP-1/2/3) & CM-700 (CP-701/702)
Primo:  EM4052PMI4 (CP-3)
Pres  Naiant: littlebox (v. 1.5/ot) & tinyboxes (v. 1.0 & 2.5)
Decks  Sound Devices: MixPre-10T | Sony: PCM-A10 | Roland: R-05 & R-09HR
Juice  Krisdonia LiPo 50k (NJF-5X) | LADDA rechargeables | Powerex MHC9000

Offline Sebastian

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1606
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #653 on: June 14, 2024, 06:10:00 PM »
Can anyone refresh me, whether this is the largest card to play it safe with? Is anyone using 64GB/larger? Very cute lil paperweight. This never woulda happened with a D-8!

I've been using Transcend High Endurance 64GB cards quite successfully for quite some time now. Not that I ever really need that much space, but I guess having it is better than needing it someday. ;)

And if it gives you any solace, I've actually lost an A10 a few years ago. Just couldn't find it anymore. Even up to this day, where it went remains one of the biggest mysteries of my life. :)
And because they are rather hard to get here in Europe, I got two the last time they were available here.

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1828
  • If it's too loud, turn it down.
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #654 on: June 14, 2024, 10:31:15 PM »
I've been using a 128gb Sandisk Ultra card for years with zero issues
Mics: mk4v/mk41v/mk22 > CMC1L/Nbobs, MKE2
Preamps: Nbox Platinum ABS, Baby Nbox
Recorders: Mixpre-6 ii, PCM-A10

Offline guitard

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3740
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #655 on: June 15, 2024, 07:52:58 AM »
I've been using Transcend High Endurance 64GB cards quite successfully for quite some time now. Not that I ever really need that much space, but I guess having it is better than needing it someday. ;)

I've been using a 128gb Sandisk Ultra card for years with zero issues

Good to know I can upgrade from a 32GB card.  Even though I always record at 96.0 kHz, 24 bit and seem to never run out of space, I've got an extra micro 128 handy, so I'm movin' on up.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s & MK41Vs >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Canon HF G70 (4K), Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 7D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline sos

  • Trade Count: (56)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #656 on: June 19, 2024, 10:23:00 AM »
Thanks, for the responses, guys. Proud owner of a 5 years younger A10 model, along with a 64GB SanDisk Extreme card. Nice to get a new 'wetsuit' with it, as well (misplaced original, quite a while ago). This combo should do the trick, for many moons to come! For stealth (I usually pair it with a tinybox), doesn't get better than this. Bring on the minstrels!
« Last Edit: June 19, 2024, 07:33:25 PM by sos »
Mics
AKG:  Naiant actives (CK61/62/63-ULS) & C568 B
Audio-Technica:  AT853 (all caps)
Nakamichi:  Franken Nak(s): CM-300 (CP-1/2/3) & CM-700 (CP-701/702)
Primo:  EM4052PMI4 (CP-3)
Pres  Naiant: littlebox (v. 1.5/ot) & tinyboxes (v. 1.0 & 2.5)
Decks  Sound Devices: MixPre-10T | Sony: PCM-A10 | Roland: R-05 & R-09HR
Juice  Krisdonia LiPo 50k (NJF-5X) | LADDA rechargeables | Powerex MHC9000

Offline robgronotte

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #657 on: July 10, 2024, 12:58:53 AM »
Does anyone know from how far away the Bluetooth control generally works on this? Or does it depend on your phone? I know very little about how Bluetooth works in general.

Offline dyneq

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 823
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #658 on: July 10, 2024, 08:35:23 AM »
Maximum 33ft in ideal conditions. If your phone has NFC capability, you can hold the two devices close together and they will connect quickly.

I have had the connection flake on me a few times. Deleting the connection from the Sony app, forgetting the Bluetooth connection and starting from scratch fixes it. When it’s working, it always connects quickly.

Offline guitard

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3740
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #659 on: July 10, 2024, 09:50:46 AM »
Maximum 33ft in ideal conditions.

If there are bodies in between your phone and the A10 - that goes down to about 33in. ;D
Mics: Schoeps MK41s & MK41Vs >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Canon HF G70 (4K), Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 7D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.062 seconds with 40 queries.
© 2002-2024 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF