Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Laptop Recording Preferences  (Read 2042 times)

Offline Trel573

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Laptop Recording Preferences
« on: July 24, 2007, 12:36:09 PM »
I'm very new to this, so please be patient.  I have 2 programs that I believe I can record audio with: Audacity & Nomad Jukebox.  I have the Nomad software from an mp3 player I bought in '03.  It appears to be the same software mentioned in all of the JB3 discussion.  Does this software work similarly with my laptop as it does with the JB3 unit?

Also, is my laptop capable of live recordings? Here's some spec's:
Inspiron 9400, Intel(R)Core(TM)2 CPU, T7200@2.00GHz, 998 MHz, 2.00 GB of RAM, SigmaTelHigh DefinitionAudio and/or Bluetooth  High Quality Audio sound cards.

Offline Trel573

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Laptop Recording Preferences
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2007, 02:45:34 PM »
ok, so I've found out that stereo recordings are definitely possible, multi-track matrixes are maybe possible, and from what another source told me I may have some issues with certain USB 2.0 audio interface devices. 

Will the Nomad Jukebox software produce better recordings than audacity?

Offline Trel573

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2007, 04:40:56 PM »
ok, so I'm looking at the motu 828mkii for audio interface.  If I'm deciphering this information correctly and I already have the recording software, then this is the only other major piece of equipment needed to record live music (obviously not considering mics, cords, etc.). Am I correct?

Offline redbook

• Taperssection Member
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2007, 04:56:44 PM »
the laptop is more than capable of recording

don't use the jukebox software, better use audacity or any other "pro" software like SoundForge, CoolEdit.... [add your fav software here]