Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Workflow for Audacity and Ozone GUI  (Read 4979 times)

Offline rigpimp

• Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Workflow for Audacity and Ozone GUI
« on: March 08, 2012, 11:14:46 PM »
Hi I am an Audacity noob.  It is not too steep of a learning curve but can someone type up a simple workflow for how to use the Ozone GUI in Audacity?

I start with a 24/48 file.  My confusion is that I can click the settings in the GUI to go from 24>16 and then click OK and it looks like it processes something but apparently makes no change.  Do I let it ride then do Mix and Render, Export, or both in that order?  I am under the impression that I have Export set up to change files to 16 bit output so I cannot tell if Ozone is doing it or if Audacity is doing it.

I resample to 44.1 after the fact.
Mics: Schoeps MK 5 MP, Schoeps MK 8 MP, Schoeps MK 41 MP, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Baby Nbox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6ii, Sony PCM-A10
Playback: Jolida 1501 Hybrid > McIntosh MX 130 > Von Schweikert VR-4 JR, or Little Dot MK III > Sennheiser HD700
http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider
https://www.concertarchives.org/kskreider
https://archive.org/details/thespps

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Workflow for Audacity and Ozone GUI
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, 12:02:18 AM »
1) when going to 16bit, always resample then dither (dither is last).
2) To use Ozone with Audacity (and it will work), then it's get everything setup in the Ozone screen that you want, hit ok, and it will pop up a little box that shows progress (and yes, it's doing something). After you're done, assuming you dithered as part of that Ozone run, then just export (or export multiple if you've tracked it out there via labels).