Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: A question for tapers (RE: MiniDisc)  (Read 3812 times)

Offline Cruzweb

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
A question for tapers (RE: MiniDisc)
« on: April 25, 2005, 01:53:34 PM »
So I've been looking into what I'll need if I wanted to start taping, as I don't have tons of cash to blow on a DAT recorder it looks like MiniDisc is the best option. The 2 I've been looking at are the Sony MZ N10 and the Sharp MD-MT280S.

My problem is that I don't know anybody who uses these or can tell me anything about how well they work for taping. Do I need an external power source for my mics if I get one of these? How important is having a lighted display?

As you can see I'm pretty new to this, so any and all help is appreciated. If you have any MD recorder reccomendations please throw them my way too, I don't want to spend more than $200 on this though.

Offline The Kilted Taper

• Needs to get out more...
  • Real men wear kilts.
Re: A question for tapers (RE: MiniDisc)
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2005, 01:59:35 PM »
I'm sure others will do this as well, but for the same price and less than $200 you can get the JB3. Much better option in my opinion.
"The guy who's been dissed, dismissed and demoted so often that he should have officially changed his first name to "Backup." "

Offline Fatah Ruark (aka MIKE B)

• Trade Count: (11)
  • I dream in beige.
    • sloppy.art.ink
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2005, 02:03:17 PM »
i USED to use a MiniDisc recorder. Now I have a JB3. Not only would I never go back to MiniDisc (due to the 80 minute limit and compressed sound) I am going to buy ANOTHER JB3, so I can record board feeds with it.

Get a JB3, and you will be happy.

The only downside is it DOES NOT provide mic power so you will need a battery box if you want to record mic in.

MIKE B
||| MICS:  Beyer CK930 | DPA 4022 | DPA 4080 | Nevaton MCE400 | Sennheiser Ambeo Headset |||