Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Advice for someone just staring out.  (Read 1789 times)

Offline morningdew

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Advice for someone just staring out.
« on: January 19, 2006, 09:24:33 AM »
Hello,

Newbie here.

I think I’m getting ready to make the leap into taping.  I’ve read all the FAQs on this site, searched these forums on the questions I'm about to ask, cruised a few other forums and have done a fair amount of research.  I’m looking for direction on how to get started.  I’ll give you a list of my goals, budget and some areas that I’m still confused on.  If you’re an experienced taper and could take some time to read this post and give some feedback, I’d appreciated it.

Starting Budget: ~ $1000

What and where will I tape (to begin with):
1.   Primarily small live bands. 
2.   Venues will mostly be bars, small theaters and small outdoor lawn concerts and also some county fairs.
3.   I will also be able to practice stealthing on small middle/high school indoor band concerts.

Goals:
1.   Stealth is must to begin with.
2.   Recordings in the mid to high level of quality.
3.   Equipment that can easily handle both stealth and be able to progress into open taping situations.
4.   Eventually make mid to high quality tapes of live concerts in an open situation.

Here is what I’m considering:
1.   Advanced concert mod from Oade on a PMD660. ~ $750 (I think?)
2.   Decent stealth mic(s) for ~ $300 (If this is possible).  Could you please make some suggestions for stealth mics in this price range?  I’m assuming cardoid?

Here are my concerns and/or uneducated thoughts:

1.   Is this all I need to get taping stealthly?  If I understand it right the PMD660 will record in phantom power mode for the length of most concerts on a good set of batteries.  So this means I wouldn’t need a power supply for the mic(s), correct?