Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Question about which field recording device to go for.  (Read 3323 times)

Offline hatchelt

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Question about which field recording device to go for.
« on: October 24, 2006, 05:25:00 PM »
Evening all, I'm after a bit of advice about portable digial recorders.
I'm off travelling in a few weeks and have had this idea to make a collection of 5 minute soundscapes from various places; streets in Bali, the outback at night, Sydney subway, drinking at the OFS, etc.
Anyone know what the best device for this kinda project would be? Obviously I'm not going to be able to download anything onto my pc for 4 months so it'll need a fair bit of storage/battery life and good sound quality is a must.
Any ideas? At the moment I think I'm torn between the Edirol R-09 or the new Zoom H4, but I'm pretty new to these things so any input would be a great help.

Offline pgoelz

• Taperssection Regular
Re: Question about which field recording device to go for.
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2006, 06:15:12 PM »
The R9 is a lot smaller than the Zoom.  With 2 GB card and MP3 at 192kb that is about 20 hours of recording time.  In addition to real time timestamping, you can also rename the files right in the R9 if you want to better remember where they were recorded. 

I find the small size a major selling point, especially if you want to carry it around a lot.  Put it in a small belt pouch or the see through Treo case and clip it to your belt and you hardly know it is there.  I would think that would be ideal for your trip. 

Speaking of the Treo case, I found a whole shelf full of them at the local Meijers store for $14 each.  Meijers is like Kmart here in Michigan. 

Paul
Paul Goelz
Rochester Hills, MI USA
Music, model helis and astronomy website:
www.pgoelz.com

Offline hatchelt

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2006, 06:40:07 PM »