Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1  (Read 6821 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hzgone

  • (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2193
  • Gender: Male
what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« on: December 04, 2003, 08:11:31 PM »
I'm going to try and build my own bat to use with a v3 and a da-p1 but i'm not sure what size.  I have a 6v V3 and the da-p1 which says it's 7.2V DC
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline greenone

  • (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9273
  • Gender: Male
  • Russian mics... strong like bull...
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2003, 08:24:50 PM »
Depends on how badly you want to bludgeon your equipment.

 :smash: :smash: :smash:

Sorry, couldn't resist. :bigsmile:
Unofficial Blues Traveler archivist - glad to work on any BT or related recordings
archive.org admin - happy to upload tracked material to the LMA

Offline Tim

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32913
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2003, 08:26:01 PM »
the dap1 runs fine off of 6v's
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

jpschust

  • Guest
  • (0)
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2003, 08:26:14 PM »
oh come on man :-)  help the guy out!  

Offline Tim

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32913
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2003, 08:33:33 PM »
you're gonna need a big battery to run them both for any length of time..

a typical 7.2ah 6v battery will probably only get you 2:45min

the v3 draws between 750-1000 Ma and the p1 draws 1000Ma

I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline greenone

  • (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9273
  • Gender: Male
  • Russian mics... strong like bull...
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2003, 09:01:05 PM »
oh come on man :-)  help the guy out!  

That would involve actually knowing the answer. ;) Being a wiseass is all I got here. ;D
Unofficial Blues Traveler archivist - glad to work on any BT or related recordings
archive.org admin - happy to upload tracked material to the LMA

Offline leegeddy

  • (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1953
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2003, 10:45:15 PM »
you're gonna need a big battery to run them both for any length of time..

a typical 7.2ah 6v battery will probably only get you 2:45min

the v3 draws between 750-1000 Ma and the p1 draws 1000Ma

according to Tascam's Manual http://www.tascam.com/products/DA-P1/pdf/DA-P1_manual.pdf , the unit's Power Consumption is 13Watts, so it's drawing a lot of current at 7.2v.

my buddy runs his with 8volts (2-4v SLA). i forget what capacity his batteries are.

marc
"I'm a taper, he's a taper. Wouldn't you like to be a taper too?"
"Mics? What mics? This is my hat."

Offline hzgone

  • (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2193
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2003, 11:03:45 PM »
would it be better to run 1 bat on each device or easier to setup
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline Tim

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32913
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2003, 11:06:53 PM »
I'd just run 1 battery for each device
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline hzgone

  • (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2193
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2003, 12:18:38 AM »
since i can run both at 6v what do i need to use.  This is my first time ever doing this and i'm new to soldering.  Thanks for everyone help plus T for all when complete this task.  Also what type of fuse will i need to use.  Since both of these devices are widely used i'm sure everyone has come up with some good solutions.
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline Tim

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32913
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2003, 12:25:15 AM »
I don't build my own batteries so I'm passing the baton!

good luck though
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2003, 11:09:45 AM »
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline hzgone

  • (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2193
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2003, 08:06:35 PM »
awesome, everyone on this board is super helpful
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2003, 10:33:17 PM »
"what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1"

depends on your size and strength, but a 35"-35 oz. bat would work great, give you a nice crunching sound.

Offline hzgone

  • (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2193
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2003, 11:52:48 PM »
well i found the battery and the parts.  After buying everythig is there really a price diffrence or is it knowing how to build your own
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline leegeddy

  • (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1953
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #15 on: December 09, 2003, 02:21:41 AM »
well i found the battery and the parts.  After buying everythig is there really a price diffrence or is it knowing how to build your own

just clarifying one thing: you want to run your V3 and the DA-P1 from the same 6V SLA.

right?

if so, all you need are these parts:

1. 1 6V SLA
2. 1 DC plug for the V3
3. 1 DC plug for the DA-P1
4. 1 Fuse holder
5. Pack of fuses
6. Wiring
7. 2 Terminal plugs for the SLA
8. Heat shrink tubing
9. 1 Adhesive type fastener
10. 1 or 2 cable ties

i'll build you the necessary wiring if you send me the DC plugs and $4 to cover shipping.

i would require a photo of the SLA via email.

marc
"I'm a taper, he's a taper. Wouldn't you like to be a taper too?"
"Mics? What mics? This is my hat."

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #16 on: December 09, 2003, 08:35:05 AM »
well i found the battery and the parts.  After buying everythig is there really a price diffrence or is it knowing how to build your own

Both.  I spent ~$100 building my first one - batt, charger, soldering iron, wiring, XLRs, etc..  The equivalent EcoCharge costs ~$200.  Subsequent batteries have cost me $20 for the SLA plus another few bucks for an extra XLR connector.  Subsequent EcoCharge batteries cost $80.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

jpschust

  • Guest
  • (0)
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #17 on: December 09, 2003, 08:40:14 AM »
yes there really is a price difference- about 35 for the battery and about 25-30 MAX for parts.  65 is way less than 160 that eco-charge charges for the 90.  225 for the system, jesus what a rip.

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11952
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #18 on: December 09, 2003, 10:50:38 AM »
yes there really is a price difference- about 35 for the battery and about 25-30 MAX for parts.  65 is way less than 160 that eco-charge charges for the 90.  225 for the system, jesus what a rip.

if you're referring to the ec-90, there is some additional very handy technology built into that battery.  the dual-voltage output is very handy and is actually built in such a way that the extra voltage is regulated and recycled, not just dissipated as heat.  this helps with battery life.  I am able to run my v3 at 6v w/phantom and a/d and the nuendo digiset for at least 5-6 hours off that one battery...so far i've pushed just over 4 and still had 2 lights left on the meter.

the battery also has a built in capacity meter and smart charger built into the battery, not the charger.  

while eco products may be expensive generally, i believe there is substantial value added into the ec-90.

Offline leegeddy

  • (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1953
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #19 on: December 09, 2003, 11:26:01 AM »
>>if you're referring to the ec-90, there is some additional very handy technology built into that battery.  the dual-voltage output is very handy and is actually built in such a way that the extra voltage is regulated and recycled, not just dissipated as heat.  this helps with battery life.  I am able to run my v3 at 6v w/phantom and a/d and the nuendo digiset for at least 5-6 hours off that one battery...so far i've pushed just over 4 and still had 2 lights left on the meter.

the battery also has a built in capacity meter and smart charger built into the battery, not the charger.  
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

according to EC homepage, the EC-90 dual supply kit retails for $255.  i'm sure there are some benefits to the added gadgets like • LED battery level meter
• Internal smart charger • LED charge status indicator, but $255!!!!!  

i'll stick with a homebrew 7.2AH 6V SLA (retail +/- $15), a 7.5AH 12V SLA (retail +/- $22) and about $10 worth of wiring/dc plugs.  2 separate chargers will run you $20 or so.

one obvious negative is the added weight of 2nd battery, but you would have PLENTY of battery capacity to power just about anything we use in the field.

total:  +/- $67 compared to $255.   oh, i forgot about the EC's • Ballistic nylon soft case with belt loop and removable shoulder strap..... no thanks...  i'll use a homebrew 20ply grocery bags and lotsa duct tape if i have to.

marc
« Last Edit: December 09, 2003, 11:37:07 AM by leegeddy »
"I'm a taper, he's a taper. Wouldn't you like to be a taper too?"
"Mics? What mics? This is my hat."

Offline Tim

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32913
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #20 on: December 09, 2003, 01:57:06 PM »
I used to build batteries, now I just use eco... easier for me and they don't look like a bomb when I go through airport security. The build quality is top notch, don't pay for it if you don't want it but there products are certainly high quality.
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #21 on: December 09, 2003, 02:00:55 PM »
I used to build batteries, now I just use eco... easier for me and they don't look like a bomb when I go through airport security. The build quality is top notch, don't pay for it if you don't want it but there products are certainly high quality.

Definitely HQ!  This is true.  But yeah, there is the bomb-suspicion factor on my hack-job going through airports.   :o  I'm always delayed for search/gear swabbing carrying all my stuff anyway, so it doesn't much matter to me.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Tim

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32913
  • Gender: Male
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #22 on: December 09, 2003, 02:06:19 PM »
someday when I have some workspace I'll get back into building my own but  for now it's just easier
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline Lil Kim Jong-Il

  • (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6497
  • large Marge sent me
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #23 on: December 09, 2003, 03:28:47 PM »

i'm sure there are some benefits to the added gadgets like • LED battery level meter
• Internal smart charger • LED charge status indicator, but $255!!!!!  

You have to remember that ecocharge sells their gear for production work and those guys aren't going to waste time building and debugging a homebrew battery system.  $255 is 10% the cost of a professional quality recorder like an HHB or D10.  So in their primary market, ecocharge batteries are pretty cheap.

The first rule of amateur neurosurgery club is .... I forget.

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40677
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:what size bat to use with v3 and da-p1
« Reply #24 on: December 21, 2003, 08:12:01 AM »
i love my bp-50's, i have 3 of them and 2 chargers, thats a lot of money in batts, but they are TOP quality 8)
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.081 seconds with 49 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF