Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Please help. What to do? Taped and gig and told not to spread by management.  (Read 8918 times)

Offline randallanddarcy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I have been taping shows all over the world since 1998. I’ve taped a lot of bands, and have circulated an awful lot of my recordings. I’ve just recently had a situation that has never occurred to me before, and I’m looking for taper’s advice. I taped a musician’s solo show. This musician has been in several bands, but isn’t huge or anything. He has a global following, but it would be a cult following. But I’m a big fan. I posted on his board that I taped this small show. The webmaster of this guy’s website sent me a private message, saying that he also recorded the show and would like mine to do a matrix of the recordings (mine is an audience recording, not a soundboard).  I then PM’d him asking if he was the promoter (the webmaster’s first name and the first name of the promoter on the ticket were the same), and if he was the guy video-ing the show. I then got a PM that didn’t answer my questions, but did request that I didn’t circulate my recording, as the management is thinking of doing a live album of this one specific show. (Which maybe why he wants mine). I just set up 2 trades (big trades that would expand my collection of this artists music) that I will have to cancel if I agree to this.