Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Help needed - how to get a decent audience capture  (Read 5589 times)

Offline auto_pilot

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Help needed - how to get a decent audience capture
« on: April 01, 2010, 05:24:13 AM »
Hello folks, my second post here (my first was on another thread about five minutes ago).

I've been trading since the mid-90s and taping on and off since 1999. One of the main reasons I started taping was the enjoyment I was getting from all these amazing recordings other folks seemed to be making, and a feeling of 'wanting to contribute to the pool'. That's still one of the main motivations now.

Between 1999 and 2002, some friends and I promoted a fair few shows and I got some decent soundboard recordings from those. I've continued to desk-tape when the opportunity has arisen, and I think I've got that pretty much sussed now - small bag of cables and connectors, initially minidisc and then upgraded to R-09HR last year. Solidly reliable hit-rate.

[From this point on, should you choose to reply, please assume you're talking to a complete and utter novice. No, this isn't an April Fool.]

In the last eleven years, I've attempted to audience-record somewhere in excess of 50 shows. I would estimate that my current hit-rate for decent audience tapes is less than 30%. I have a fair few shows I'd dearly love to record over the next couple of months and it's probably time I did something about sorting this out.