Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Bass drum distortion due to bad placement of mics  (Read 4059 times)

Offline Mr.Scully

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • Queen Concerts
Bass drum distortion due to bad placement of mics
« on: November 22, 2011, 09:45:53 AM »
I know the usual distortion caused by clipping at too loud gigs cannot be repaired in any way. But my recording was volume-wise okay, I just had my omnis (SP-CMC-8 + battery box) almost at a waist level in quite a bad sounding venue so I got this distortion on bass drum and possibly also on bass guitar. Would anybody be so kind to check the four samples and let me know if there's anything that could be done with that? (I use Goldwave). I tried to lower the bass level but it doesn't help much (and being an amateur, I usually use only preset options when using sound editors). Don't know if any noise reduction filters would help...

http://www.QueenConcerts.com/tmp/rammstein01.flac
http://www.QueenConcerts.com/tmp/rammstein02.flac
http://www.QueenConcerts.com/tmp/rammstein03.flac
http://www.QueenConcerts.com/tmp/rammstein04.flac

(Normally I wouldn't care but I'd like to use a good sounding audio for a video of this concert and I haven't come across any other source yet (Rammstein live in Prague - November 12, 2011).

Thanks

Offline Mr.Scully

• Taperssection Regular
    • Queen Concerts
Re: Bass drum distortion due to bad placement of mics
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2011, 03:57:27 PM »
Nothing at all? Is anybody at least able to tell me if remastering is possible in this case or if I should give up?

Offline Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2011, 04:14:50 PM »