Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Anyone fool enough to accept this challenge?  (Read 11037 times)

Offline Songcatcher

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Anyone fool enough to accept this challenge?
« on: May 23, 2012, 12:58:34 PM »
Hi All
I've been a member here awhile, but I mostly just check in when I'm looking for info and I rarely post.

I've been taping in some form or other since 1965, when I first got a 3" reel-to-reel for Christmas (I was eight years old). 1972 brought me into the cassette world and recording the King Biscuit Flower Hour off the radio. Through the 70's and 80's I had taper friends who recorded lots of Dead shows and whatever else came to town. I soon became spoiled by getting tapes of nearly every show I attended from my buddies. As my tastes began to diverge from that of my friends, I found it necessary to become a live music taper myself. I bought a DAT in 1994 and have continued with it until the present day. As everyone here (except me) knows, technology marches on. I am now faced with an antiquated and deceased recording system and not a clue as to how modern digital recorders work. In addition, I have few computer skills and do not presently have a computer at home. I've scanned a number of posts here trying to learn about things, but with a lack of basic understanding, there seems to be a large volume of material that's plainly over my head. It’s pretty intimidating. Here's where you come in.