Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?  (Read 12314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bombdiggity

  • (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2277
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2013, 01:15:00 PM »
I can resist no longer...

Wherever the soundperson tells you to!   

Though I know that's no help to the real question here. 

Provocative title gets people to look though.   

Most rinky dink soundboards have an RCA "tape out" on the work surface.  if you don't know what you're doing and no one there does either aim for that (which may be all that is available on small systems).  Of course getting your own submix is usually much better but rare unless the operator does that on a regular basis (and the majority of really rinky dink boards don't really offer that option). 

I learned how to run sound showing up at those kind of shows where there's a board but no operator and someone playing was friends of mine.  At least I knew what they were supposed to sound like...   A couple of the best boards I have are ones I literally made myself. 
Gear:
Audio:
Schoeps MK4V
Nak CM-100/CM-300 w/ CP-1's or CP-4's
SP-CMC-25
>
Oade C mod R-44  OR
Tinybox > Sony PCM-M10 (formerly Roland R-05) 
Video: Varied, with various outboard mics depending on the situation

Offline Patrick

  • Evil Urges, Baby.
  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5216
  • Gender: Male
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2013, 05:26:56 PM »
Very few outputs (besides tape/rec out) on the house console will have a useable signal unless the engineer feeds something to those physical jacks.  Never assume that there's going to be signal there.  Communication is key ;)
Monitor Engineer: Cage the Elephant, The Head and the Heart, Bruce Hornsby, Josh Ritter

Live Music Archive Bookmarks

Offline shownomarcy

  • (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
    • Hungarian Metallica fanclub!
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #17 on: July 10, 2013, 08:56:22 AM »
I collected these cables, connectors, one of these are always good to me:
xlr (mono-mono)
rca (mono-mono)
1/4 jack (mono-mono)
1/4 jack stereo.
All I can do is to have the right cable, I would never find out where to plug and the soundmen wouldn't even allow to try it, I guess :)
AT853uw mics / ca-14 (omni/card)+ ca-9200 preamp
Edirol R-09HR / Tascam DR-2d
Canon Legria HF S20

Have you taped any Hungarian band? Please contact me! :)
http://www.youtube.com/shownomarcy
https://soundcloud.com/m-rton-sebesty-n-shownomarcy
http://www.dimeadozen.org/account-details.php?id=397210
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/member.php?u=120801

Offline Church-Audio

  • (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7571
  • Gender: Male
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #18 on: July 10, 2013, 09:05:35 AM »
my adventures in the90's, bring an rca cord with 1/4" adaptors, the matrix out usually had low signal

...Only if the engineer doesn't turn it up. The matrix outs are variable output but I believe are usually left turned down unless they're in use (good policy in general). If you can't get a signal from them, just ask the engineer to turn up the volume on whatever matrix outs you're in.
Matrix out is simply a collection of every output on the board that can be discreetly mixed. It can be left and right or just aux outputs or just sub group outputs. Its what ever the sound engineer makes it. A caution about left and right is this.. Some sound engineers insert eq's into the left and right buss.. And if you use matrix chances are you will get the left and right house eq if its inserted. If its in line. Meaning house left right ----EQ-----system processor then you are fine.
for warranty returns email me at
EMAIL Sales@church-audio.com

Offline Church-Audio

  • (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7571
  • Gender: Male
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #19 on: July 10, 2013, 09:06:09 AM »
In general the best way to get an output from the board is to simply ask this question. Can I get an output from the console that has the best overall mix? And let him or her figure it out AND THANK YOU! is also a good idea. Also patting him or her on the back by telling them the live mix sounds really good will also insure he or her pays more attention to you.  ;D
for warranty returns email me at
EMAIL Sales@church-audio.com

runonce

  • Guest
  • (0)
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #20 on: July 10, 2013, 10:34:32 AM »
In general the best way to get an output from the board is to simply ask this question. Can I get an output from the console that has the best overall mix? And let him or her figure it out AND THANK YOU! is also a good idea. Also patting him or her on the back by telling them the live mix sounds really good will also insure he or her pays more attention to you.  ;D

Im detecting some bias here... ;)

Offline Church-Audio

  • (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7571
  • Gender: Male
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #21 on: July 10, 2013, 11:42:09 AM »
In general the best way to get an output from the board is to simply ask this question. Can I get an output from the console that has the best overall mix? And let him or her figure it out AND THANK YOU! is also a good idea. Also patting him or her on the back by telling them the live mix sounds really good will also insure he or her pays more attention to you.  ;D

Im detecting some bias here... ;)
In Canada I rarely ever get someone asking for a board feed ( Unless its a media feed ) When I was mixing a major Canadian artist, I gave a board feed to a local news broadcaster. The band manager said 20 seconds of audio then kill the feed and he was right beside me making sure that is what happened. Taping in Canada is not very popular and most Canadian artists do not allow it or simply don't understand the culture of it. And that the real community is not into selling the recordings they make, and that this can actually help promote a band. But again times are changing.
for warranty returns email me at
EMAIL Sales@church-audio.com

Marshall7

  • Guest
  • (0)
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2013, 12:34:39 AM »
Taping in Canada is not very popular and most Canadian artists do not allow it or simply don't understand the culture of it.

Maybe you should get out of your basement once in awhile. ???

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40677
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2013, 03:46:32 PM »
Quick question. On most boards what is the XLR output. Male or female?
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline tgakidis

  • (546)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5704
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #24 on: July 16, 2013, 04:38:26 PM »
Quick question. On most boards what is the XLR output. Male or female?

Male out (just like a microphone).
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Austrian Audio OC818 / Telefunken TF-11 / Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunated V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10ii, MixPre-10T, MixPre-6ii / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40677
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #25 on: July 16, 2013, 08:52:48 PM »
Quick question. On most boards what is the XLR output. Male or female?

Male out (just like a microphone).

Thanks Ted!
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline Phil Zone

  • (18)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 951
  • Gender: Male
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #26 on: July 27, 2013, 06:44:12 PM »
At the vibes its a left and right patch boxes with female male outs.  So you use a female xlr
Microphones: Busman BSC-1, AKG C460B/CK61/CK63, Samson CL2, CA-14 (cards), Naiant X-X
Preamps: Naiant Littlebox [X3] (OT)(OT/IT)(OT/Black), Naiant Tinyhead
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-05
Software: Sony Sound Forge/ Vegas, TLH
Photo: Canon 7D Mark ii/70D, 70-200 f2.8, 18-135 STM, 55-250 STM, Tamron 17-50 f2.8, Tokina 11-16 f2.8

LMA Shows: http://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Cam%20Keough%22&sort=-date

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40677
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #27 on: September 04, 2013, 08:02:58 AM »
I can resist no longer...

Where do you plug in on a soundboard? In the back, where all the other stuff is plugged in.

Often true, but some consoles have RCA outs on the work surface, facing the soundman...

Thats how my local bands SBD is. The RCA OUTS are on the top of the console facing the soundguy! I need some cables from Darktrain so that I can patch out of ANY SBD>M10. I know the M10 isnt the most ideal SBD recorder, but it gets the job done, and surprisingly enough, the M10s preamps are pretty damn good for a $250 recorder. I need Darktrain to make me ALL SORTS of cables so that I can patch out of virtually ANY SBD :) I can DEF afford it this fall :) And the M10 is SUPER SIMPLE to use when patching a SBD. Just mess with the gain knob til youre happy with the levels, just like youre using an external preamp instead of the preamps of the M10!

I was planning on getting a Tascam Dr680, just for SBDs mainly, but I dont get nearly enough SBD patches throughout the year to justify the expense of the DR680. I will just buy a 3rd M10 to take care of teh SBD patches :)

I REALLY wish I went to school for recording :( I would LOVE to learn how to do the live side of recording. Like running SBDs and multitracks, so that they can be recorded. Thats like my DREAM job 8)

So AJ, what youre saying is: Avoid the MATRIX OUTS ??? I have typically used the TAPE OUT/LINE OUT/etc on most of the SBDs Ive patched from. Like I said, I wished I patched out of SBDs enough to justify getting a DR680, but I just dont. I would say the last 15 years of taping[been taping for 20 years], I have patched out of a SBD like 15-20 times MAX.

Anyway, sorry for the rambling............
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

adrianf74

  • Guest
  • (0)
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #28 on: September 08, 2013, 03:46:08 PM »
I'm with Bean on this one.  I've been tempted to pick up a 680 or R-44 (or even an R-26) but the number of times I end up getting a board feed are few and far between.  I was looking at a Tascam DR-2D just because it would give me locked clocks between the two input points and will likely just do that for the times when I need to run two different mics or a board feed and mics.

Bean, I asked a similar question about board feeds and somebody gave me a list of all of the "parts" one would need.  It's about $35 + shipping from B&H and this would give you all of the XLR, 1/4" and RCA options you'd need to get from the board to 1/8" IN on your M10.

Offline Patrick

  • Evil Urges, Baby.
  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5216
  • Gender: Male
Re: Where do you plug in on a soundboard?
« Reply #29 on: September 13, 2013, 02:18:26 PM »
So AJ, what youre saying is: Avoid the MATRIX OUTS ??? I have typically used the TAPE OUT/LINE OUT/etc on most of the SBDs Ive patched from. Like I said, I wished I patched out of SBDs enough to justify getting a DR680, but I just dont. I would say the last 15 years of taping[been taping for 20 years], I have patched out of a SBD like 15-20 times MAX.


Again, just talk to the engineer and he will get you squared away.  Bring all sorts of adapters to be prepared for any style of connector.  Very few outputs on consoles have any signal going to them unless the engineer turns the correct knobs. 
Monitor Engineer: Cage the Elephant, The Head and the Heart, Bruce Hornsby, Josh Ritter

Live Music Archive Bookmarks

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.063 seconds with 44 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF