Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Reducing Bass  (Read 2127 times)

Offline Wayne Kisbee

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Reducing Bass
« on: February 14, 2014, 04:41:02 AM »
I have a recording I made that is a little bass heavy and I want to know how I reduce bass using Audacity?

Can anyone offer some advice?

Cheers
Roland R-05 recorder with SP-CMC-8 (AT943) mics and SP-SPSB-7 battery module

Offline danny3

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Reducing Bass
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2014, 09:34:07 AM »
I am no expert, and recently used the equalization tools in audacity for the first time, but it was easy to do, and has helped me salvage some recordings. One example had too much bass like yours. It also magically helped to bring up the bass in a stage mic recording. Amazing results.
Others will no doubt have more hands on expertise, and know more about Hz levels than I, but here is what I did. Select the track you want to fix and select Duplicate from the Edit menu. This will place a copy of the track at the bottom of your project window. Select that track, and select Equalization from the Effects menu. From here on (until you get more informed advice) experiment to see what gives the best results. I used Graphic EQ, B-spline, and move the sliders appropriately. I recommend saving and naming each effort (Save/Manage Curves and rename.)
Just a suggestion to get you going – I am looking forward to more educated replies on this topic.

Offline Wayne Kisbee

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2014, 10:33:04 AM »
Cheers Danny. I'll give that a go   ;)
Roland R-05 recorder with SP-CMC-8 (AT943) mics and SP-SPSB-7 battery module

Offline mr qpl

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2014, 11:53:46 AM »