Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: ISO EQ help (Metallica)  (Read 2569 times)

Offline travelinbeat

• Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Turning soundwaves into zeros and ones since 1999
    • http://db.etree.org/travelinbeat
ISO EQ help (Metallica)
« on: January 07, 2015, 11:57:47 PM »
I have a show that I've been avoiding processing for a couple months now because I can't seem to get an EQ that I like.  With a decent set of cans, you should be able to tell right away wha tI don't like about it (super distant and thin sounding).  I'm wondering if any EQ experts out there may be so kind as to tinker a bit with the sample I've uploaded and share your processes.  I'd love not only to start and finish tracking this recording, but also to learn a little about what (if anything) can be done in post to any future recordings I may make with similar issues. 

Thanks in advance!

PS:  The show is actually the Concert for Valor on the National Mall in DC-- featured Metallica, Zac Brown Band, Bruce, Dave Grohl, Eminem, and some others.

77MB 24bit/96kHz 4min flac:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/qswzrwngnggmxmh/metallica_sample.flac
Mics: Busman BSC1's K1/K2/K3/K4, CA-14's
Units: 2x Edirol R-09HR, iRiver H120 (RockBox + 2200mAh + CF mod)
Power & Accessories: Naiant Littlebox 1.5, Church ST-9100, Denecke PS-2, 2x Kingston SDHC (Model: SD2/8GB), 2x Kingston SDHC (Model: SD4/16GB), Kingston 32GB (Model: SD4/32GB), Darktrain XLR, 2x Shure A81WS's, 4x Powerex 9.6v, 12x Sanyo 2700 NiMH, 2x AT8410A's

Team DC · Team Naiant · Team Busman · Team Church Audio · NFL Team is NY Jets

I tape in earnest dedication to the mission of breaking the back of the CTOA

Offline anr

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
Re: ISO EQ help (Metallica)
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2015, 02:05:57 AM »
http://yourlisten.com/bigdee/metallica-sample-edit