Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Getting equipment in/out Mexico  (Read 5583 times)

Offline nassau73

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
Getting equipment in/out Mexico
« on: August 07, 2019, 10:11:34 PM »
It seems more and more of the bands that us oldsters enjoy seem to play shows in late winter in Mexico.

So, anybody have any experience with carrying audio recording equipment across the borders?

I'd only be doing a Roland R-07, small mics with a 6 foot cable and a Church UGLY Battery Box. I'm just wondering about having to claim anything because of tariffs, etc. I've never done anything like this before, but I'm contemplating attending one of the shows that will take place in Cancun in Feb 2020.

Offline mnm207

• Trade Count: (8)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • website
Re: Getting equipment in/out Mexico
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2019, 11:00:45 PM »
I have carried audio and photo equipment out of and back into the US frequently and never had a problem. Usually I bring a handheld recorder plus small omni lavs; though to Sri Lanka I brought a MixPre3 plus omni lavs and a small parabolic reflector, no one said boo. For the amount of gear you're describing, it's most likely no one will see or care about it--same as any tourist's DSLR camera. If one were traveling with large amounts of equipment (think large scale TV productions or high-end fashion shoots) looking into a carnet would be prudent.

The only challenge you may have is explaining the UGLY battery box at the security screening. The last couple of flights I took the screeners wanted to see my D100.
// Sony ECM-MS5 | Naiant XX | LOM Usi & mikroUsi | Ambient ATM216 // Shure FP24 // Sound Devices Mixpre-3 | Sony PCM-D100 | Sony PCM-M10

Offline opsopcopolis

• Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2019, 11:10:24 PM »